The cost of adulthood

27 Feb

As a college student getting drunk was a breeze.  All it took was a combination of hard liquor and watered down shitty beer, or watered down shitty alcohol.  My fave combos consisted of:

  • 1 mind eraser, and a pitcher of Coors Light
  • 1 shot of Goldschlager, and 4 Long Island Iced Teas

Total cost?  Approximately $10-15 per drunken night.  Hangovers?  Nope, none at all.  Ah, the good old days when my body could handle the booze.  I’d wake up the next day and was perfectly fine.

The cost of a drunken stupor now is far more expensive – in more ways than one.  You couldn’t pay me to drink Coors Light now, and a mind eraser with a Long Island Iced Tea would probably be enough to cause a blackout.  Instead I find myself enjoying fancy cocktails that look like art in a glass and cost $10-15 per drink.  My max is usually around 4, BUT a few weekends ago my bill came out to $156.  I have no fucking clue how that happened – that’s what happens when you blackout, you don’t remember shit.

Last night my friend from college came into town.  On his way to meet me for dinner he alluded to a night of drunken debauchery for which we would both pay in the morning.  Fearing the hangover at an 8:30 meeting I was smart enough to pace myself and enjoyed only four glasses of wine with plenty of water.  He enjoyed his vodka tonic, five glasses of red wine, and beer.

At about 11 this morning he sent me a text saying that he was so hungover he thought he had died and was suffering in hell.

I love when other people are hungover and I’m not.

3 Responses to “The cost of adulthood”

  1. girlseule February 28, 2013 at 12:54 am #

    Being an adult is goddamn expensive! When I was at uni I lived on $110 a week, managed to go out all the time, buy clothes and even saved up enough for a trip to Thailand. How did that happen!

  2. Suelinhess February 28, 2013 at 1:31 am #

    you need to buy your booze by the case. Make fancy cocktails at home. Be an economical drunk. Take it from me. Unfortunately, the cheap hangovers are as shitty as the expensive hangovers…and they get worse as we get older 😦

  3. Steph March 1, 2013 at 1:27 am #

    I had totally forgotten about mind erasers. Totally disgusting, but I used to drink the shit out of them. Good times…

Leave a Reply

