There’s a first time for everything

7 Feb

I don’t remember my first steps or my first words, but I remember my first boyfriend, my first kiss, my first love.  I remember my first job, and my first heartbreak.  My first Hurricane in New Orleans – no, not Katrina, rather the DELICIOUS drink from Pat O’Brien’s.  And I clearly remember the dude who I made out with all night, and how fucking hungover I was the next day.

Speaking of which, I also clearly remember my first hangover.  I was 19 years old and my parents threw a HUGE Christmas party.  We had about 100 people in the house, and my mother had put me in charge of the margaritas.  Since I was responsible for making them, I figured I might as well help myself to a few.  So I did – to 6 of them.  At which point I figured I might as well go ahead and help myself to half of a beer and a shot of tequila.  Was that enough?  Not even close.  I drank a 1/4 of a bottle of Absolute straight out of the bottle.  This led to my first blackout.  Which led to my first hangover.

But this isn’t about that – no, it’s about a new first, one I truly never imagined would ever happen to me.

Typically weekday night, I’m on the couch shoving food down my throat while watching something terrible on my DVR.  On this evening an apple is the choice of food.  Just took a big bite, chewed, and swallowed.  15 seconds later I burped and the entire bite came back up my throat.  All my chewed and swallowed food right back into my mouth.  I disgust myself.

You’re welcome for sharing this with you.

5 Responses to “There’s a first time for everything”

  1. ron February 8, 2013 at 11:32 am #

    Apparently you recycle. Good for you. Go Green.

    • Catherinette February 8, 2013 at 3:12 pm #

      Reduce, reuse, recycle…

  2. suelinhess February 8, 2013 at 2:17 pm #

    This is called cud. Cows do it. It is your body’s way of getting the most nutrients out if your food. Burp, chew your cud, and swallow. Fruit cud is disgusting. Salami and cheese cud is disgustinger. That was me last night. Mixed with wine. Sharing is caring; aren’t you happier now? 😉

    • Catherinette February 8, 2013 at 2:24 pm #

      I can’t believe you called me a cow!!

  3. Chris Hull February 8, 2013 at 3:54 pm #

    Reminds me of the story when Rick Reilly got to fly with the Blue Angels. He asked them what he should eat before the flight, and the told him bananas. When he asked if that was for the potassium, they said “No, because they taste the same coming up as going down”.

Leave a Reply

