Vampires, my friends, vampires

31 Oct

Halloween 2012 – post Sandy.  There’s electricity in the house and my basement was spared an apocalyptic flood.  Clearly I’ve done something right in my life.  Or perhaps it was Karma’s way of telling me I’d suffered enough after having to sleep on the top bunks in Damien and Lucy(fer)’s rooms during the storm.  You’d be amazed at how a hurricane doesn’t seem quite so bad after you’ve been trapped-with limited amounts of alcohol and chocolate-in the same house with your family for an extended period of time.

But alas, I digress.

Here we are on Halloween night.  Due to the storm Trick or Treating has been postponed until Sunday.  Which is kind of awesome for kids because they can play all stupid and go tonight and on Sunday.  And they can go to the towns that have postponed to Friday, or Saturday or Monday – and they can fill their plastic pumpkins with loads of goodies.  Thus giving birth to another generation of obesity).

What’s a girl to do?

Long gone are my days of dressing up like a white trash skank and getting hammered downtown.  No more dressing up like a southern belle and doing body shots of Southern Comfort at 3:00 in the afternoon.  Goodbye to the days of waking up on November first still wearing my vampire fangs and missing one shoe.  And a very fond farewell to dressing up as a “bad influence” and handing out cigarettes or giving people shots of tequila.  Those days are over now.

In my late 30’s, Halloween has a more sophisticated feel.  Take tonight, for example.  Picture this: me sitting on the couch, wearing sweatpants, watching “Lost Boys” while, eating all the good candy out of the bowl, and drinking wine?

Happy Halloween!

One Response to “Vampires, my friends, vampires”

  1. Chris Hull October 31, 2012 at 9:29 pm #

    And that is a damned fine way to spend the evening.

Leave a Reply

