I’m as Fiscally Responsible as Barclay’s

5 Jul

Since moving to Philadelphia about two years ago I’ve made -$40,000.  That’s forty THOUSAND dollars.  American dollars.  Yeah, you saw that right.  I managed to pay $2400+ in housing for over a year.  My average monthly expenses for booze and food is about $800.  My average monthly savings is about -$200. I’ve done the math and it’s not good.  Pretty sure my high school math teacher is rolling over in his grave.  Sorry, dude-whose-name-I-can’t-remember-but-I-remember-the-ear-hair-you-had.

You can imagine my delight when my house finally sold this month.  Sure, it had been on the market for over a year, and sure, it was sold at a loss.  And sure, I had to dig money out of my IRA to pay to sell the house so my future is screwed forever and I have zero savings now.  But whatever.  As far as I’m concerned cutting my housing costs in half make me feel so much better.

The plan was to put that extra $1200 per month into savings.  Within a year I’d recoup the cost of what I spent and my savings would look much better than they do now (since they’re nonexistent).

So what did I do today?  I spent $300 on concert tickets so I can take Damien to his very first concert – for a cheesy boy band.  Woo hoo!  Best aunt EVER!!

Do I have my financial shit together?  No, I do not.  Do I have a winning personality and a great rack?  Yes, yes I do.  Am I the best aunt in the whole wide world?  You bet your ass I am.

2 Responses to “I’m as Fiscally Responsible as Barclay’s”

  1. Dragoness July 6, 2012 at 12:01 am #

    Live in the now chick. You can worry about the future now later! 🙂

  2. Chicago-Style Girl July 10, 2012 at 10:10 pm #

    I was saying something very similar to this when i purchased two sets of rollerblades and an entire art set for children in my family. But it’s good to be the fun/cool aunt/older cousin. We’ll save starting next month, right?

Leave a Reply

