My Mom is so Cute When She Does Stupid Things

25 Feb

 

This morning my mom called me to announce she was very excited with her latest purchase.  She is absolutely obsessed with PBS’s “Downton Abbey”.  So obsessed that if anyone calls her when it’s on TV (even in repeats) she answers the phone only to tell you she can’t talk to you right no.  Every other world out of her mouth on “Downton Abbey” Days is “Mary this” and “Matthew that”.  If there was a rehab we could send her, we totally would.

So it was no surprise when she announced today she had purchased the UK version of “Downton Abbey” on DVD.  After all, she loves the show.  One problem: she doesn’t have a DVD player.  None at all.  The conversation went like this:

  • Mom: Guess what?  I bought Downton Abbey on DVD!
  • Me: Good for you.  But you already saw all the shows.
  • Mom: I know, but I bought the UK version and I heard it’s different.
  • Me: Well, it’s the same show so I don’t think it will be very different.
  • Mom: I can’t wait to watch it.  I just need to figure out how.
  • Me: What do you mean?
  • Mom: I don’t have a DVD player.
  • Me: Wait.  What?
  • Mom: I don’t have a DVD player.
  • Me: So you mean to tell me you went out and spent $45 on DVDs you can’t even play?
  • Mom: But I really like the show.

Now she has to go out and get herself a Blu Ray player.

You’re special, mom.  Really special.

Maybe next time she’ll get herself a pool raft for the pool she doesn’t own.

 

5 Responses to “My Mom is so Cute When She Does Stupid Things”

  1. Moiii February 27, 2012 at 12:16 am #

    OMG!! Your mom is too funny. I find it especially entertaining because she’s a doctor!! Let’s bring it back to the 90’s…things that make ya go hmmmmmmm 😉

  2. marinasleeps February 27, 2012 at 2:00 pm #

    Awwwww……. sounds like my mom.
    Her favorite line, “How did I turn this computer on?”

  3. Artful Dater (@ArtfulDater) February 27, 2012 at 11:37 pm #

    Amazing.. my mom is the same way. No matter how many times I try to explain the difference between debit cards and credit cards, she thinks they are the same thing. She doesn’t want another “credit card” so every time she needs cash she drives to her bank and takes out money with her ATM card. I swear she has spent 10 years of her life on driving to and from the bank. Awesome.

    Anyway– i just found your blog and I’m loving it. Keep up the great posts.

    Christine
    http://www.artfulonlinedating.com

  4. misshaychv2012 February 28, 2012 at 6:51 am #

    Your mum can proudly proclaim she is officially a fangirl.

    Next she’ll be going to Downton Abbey Cons and visiting the real ‘Downton Abbey’. LOL

    I can say this because once upon a time I was a fangirl of a TV show too… 😛

  5. Mel March 5, 2012 at 4:07 am #

    I would like to have a pool boy for the pool I don’t own…

Leave a Reply

