My First Date of 2012

1 Feb

I know you’ve all been eagerly awaiting my recap of my big date on Sunday.  I can tell by the way no one emailed me or posted any comments.  Nice, really nice.  Remember, years ago when you used to visit and email me and ask me stuff?  What ever happened to that?  Why you no love me no more?  Why?

In a single sentence I can sum up my date with this question: this is why I showered today?

He’s a nice guy.  Absolutely hilarious AND gainfully employed.  He has his shit together, owns a house, says nice thing about his family, and is fun to hang out with.  Average looking guy, and tiny enough I could fit him into my pocket and feed him peanuts while baby-talking to him during a movie.  Sadly, he’s too petite for me.  Too small.  I’m 5’8″, he’s 5’6″ if he stands on his tip toes.  I felt like he had stopped growing when he turned 13, and was stuck at that awkward skinny/small stage.

What can I say?  There were no bells.  There were no whistles.  Butterflies were nowhere to be found.  I saw no stars.  I felt no tingles.  I wish I could tell you he made my toes curl, or I couldn’t wait to see him again, or we made out for hours and it was like magic.  I’m afraid I can’t.

We had a nice time, he made me laugh, but the whole time I was thinking, “I do not want to make out with this dude.  Who can I set him up with?”  That does not bode well.

So, my dears, it looks like this singleton is going to remain single for awhile longer.

I’ll add this to my dating fail list.

11 Responses to “My First Date of 2012”

  1. Tony Alva February 1, 2012 at 5:31 pm #

    That’s okay, it wasn’t a disaster date, just not the dude for you. I’d say at least a small step in the right direction given the nightmare dates you’ve described to us through the years. Get back out there and good luck!

    • Catherinette February 1, 2012 at 5:52 pm #

      Sometimes I wonder if it’s just better to curl into the fetal position and give up. -CS

  2. Del-v February 1, 2012 at 6:37 pm #

    You crack me up!!!

    • Catherinette February 1, 2012 at 6:40 pm #

      Because my “love” life is deader than dead? -CS

  3. Pkitass February 1, 2012 at 7:51 pm #

    Pack him up and ship him my way I’m 5″4″ so I guess it will work I just won’t wear heels.
    Better luck next time.

    • Catherinette February 1, 2012 at 9:53 pm #

      He’s an absolute delight in a small package. -CS

  4. Ruby Wildflower February 1, 2012 at 9:44 pm #

    He sounds cute.

    • Catherinette February 1, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

      I’ll give him your number. -CS

  5. Michelle February 2, 2012 at 2:42 am #

    Yes, but at least you actually HAD a date, which totally puts me one up on you in the “deader than dead love life” department.

  6. allyson February 3, 2012 at 1:45 pm #

    I hope you were honest with him about not clicking with him. He sounds like a lovely guy for someone… just not you.

  7. thoughtsappear February 8, 2012 at 10:48 am #

    I’m sorry there were no butterflies, but I’m glad he was at least a nice guy. I’m into guys shorter than I am either.

Leave a Reply

