The Good Old Days

22 Jan

We get all nostalgic and shit over “the good old days”.  Yeah, it’s nice to think about how things used to be.  It was nice being able to go out of the house as a child and not worry about getting kidnapped and/or dismembered.  And there were definitely bonuses to living in a time when it wasn’t so scary going to high school.  The scariest thing to happened to me is having to deal with a teacher who didn’t change his shirt for the entire year.  I went to three different high schools, and the girls at my second high school were probably sluttier than teenage girls are today.

I was a junior in high school when my family moved to Baltimore – shitty time to move.  Like idiots, we listened to the real estate agent about schools.  She told us that the public schools were the way to go and private schools were terrible in Baltimore.  Shortly after starting my Junior year we realized the real estate agent was a complete idiot.  The public schools were where all the people without resources went.  I went to an all girls school and there were fights all the time, all the time.  There were clumps of weave that would roll down the hallways like tumble weeds.  Not a pleasant time for a girl who was raised in a middle class world.

My first day in the cafeteria my jaw almost hit the floor when I saw not one, but seven pregnant girls.  I had never seen that before.  And when one day my classmates in English started talking about whether/not they took their jewelry off when the had sex with their boyfriends I almost cried.  I had never ever been in the presence of such whores.

Look, I’m all about sleeping around and giving it up as often as possible, but when 14-17 year old girls are doing it, it’s freaking gross.  I have zero problem with the idea of my sister and bro-in-law locking up my niece in the closet until her 21st birthday.  In fact, I encourage it.  I don’t want to hear stories of her sexting someone when she’s 11 years old.  Or having her get caught giving her 13 year old boyfriend a wristie in the back of his mom’s car.

I do consider myself fortunate that I wasn’t exposed to any of that kind of stuff until after I turned 15.  It was nice living a sheltered life when the biggest concern was who made out with who.  You can never get that innocence back once it’s gone.  And I for one, am happy I couldn’t add any value to that whore conversation in my English class on that one day.  After all, I held out much longer than they did – right up until I turned 17.

3 Responses to “The Good Old Days”

  1. Chicago-Style Girl January 23, 2012 at 12:20 am #

    I agree. People forget how important maintaining innocence is. Once it’s gone you can’t get it back. Having that naivete gives you more freedom to learn about yourself and your convictions before it gets tainted by peer pressure and rebellion. If you never build up those values, you don’t have anything to go back to after you’ve sown your wild oats.

  2. Amber January 24, 2012 at 1:53 pm #

    It’s pretty depressing. We have a pregnant 8th grader at the middle school where I work. On top of that, her mom’s pregnant, so there will be a little aunt and a little niece/nephew born at right around the same time. AND the mom/grandma had her first baby at 14. Keep. Your. Legs. Together.

  3. Teri January 25, 2012 at 2:03 pm #

    My niece is 14 going on 35 and I worry about this stuff, all the time. I can only imagine how my sister feels. Yikes!

    My public school didn’t have those issues. Yes, there were a few girls that were pregnant but everyone didn’t talk about sex, like that, etc.

Leave a Reply

