You Shut Your Mouth RIGHT NOW!

25 Nov

One of the nice things about working from home – aside from not having to get dressed – is the lack of distraction.  Unless you count the television as a distraction…When I’m in my own home, there are times when I can get a lot done.  Mainly because I’m a BIG talker at work and my cube is the party cube, everyone always stops by to visit.

Here I am during Thanksgiving break on Martha’s Vineyard, and my boss was kind enough to let me work remotely while I’m here.  I’ve been pretty good about it, mainly because I want the chance to do it again another time.  As long as I log in, they don’t care what hours I work.  They just want to feel like I’m connected and still producing the stuff I’m supposed to produce.

Here’s the hitch, my mom is with me and she likes to take this time to talk to me while I’m in the middle of something.  She then proceeds to get pissed off when I don’t respond to her because I’m in the middle of something.  And you should see how mad she gets when I’m on a conference call and she starts asking me questions and I don’t answer her.  Livid.  Raging.  Tuesday she came downstairs while I was in the middle of a call so she decided to check her work voicemail.  She then told me to be quiet because she couldn’t hear.  Um, really?  Go back upstairs!!

This morning she decided to sit at the table with me while she checked the news.  She promised me she’d be quiet.  Yeah, right.  Here’s what I learned while she was reading the news this morning:

  • NY has the largest population of Mexicans in the United States.
  • Hugh Laurie is paid $250,o0o per episode and he wants to retire.
  • There’s a correlation between Alzheimer’s and weight gain.

First of all, I don’t care.  Second, I’m trying to work here!!  Third, what part of “I can’t talk to you while I work” do you not understand?

Go back upstairs.  Read you book and leave me alone for another hour so I can finish looking at facebook doing my work in peace.

2 Responses to “You Shut Your Mouth RIGHT NOW!”

  1. Newsha Fardmanesh November 26, 2011 at 1:58 am #

    My parents love trying to talk to me while I’m on the phone. Then they get mad when I start waiving my arm back and forth like a crazy person and start shaking my head. They say it’s disrespectful. My reply is that when they’re being rude, I can be disrespectful.

  2. Skylers Dad November 28, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

    Since i work out of the house, my wife likes to do the same thing. She always comes into my office, sees me wearing my headset on a call, but still asks “Do you have time to help me change a poopy diaper?”

Leave a Reply

