Some of My Coworkers Are Infected with Stupidity

10 Sep

I went over to a friend’s house for dinner last night.  We work together at Widgets & Co.  She’s an interesting, eccentric woman who has done a lot of things in her life, experienced a lot of loss.  Her husband died in a tragic drowning accident after eight years of marriage, only two years – almost to the day – after their only child was stillborn.  She was a chiropractor for many years, changed her mind and started building airplanes, and then wound up at Widgets & Co.  She believes in holistic medicine, keeps Kosher (because she’s Jewish), and has an animal communicator for her pet.  She’s out there.  A really nice, generous, woman, but strange.

She doesn’t really fit into our corporate culture.  Still, it’s kind of fun to watch her go off on how we’ve all been drinking the punch and our brains are going to be stolen from us.  She amuses me.

At dinner last night she told me about the welcome lunch her team wanted to throw for her when she first started.  Her team is much smaller than mine and she works with a bunch of bitches.  One of them is a genuine bible beater – the kind of woman who will quote bible passages to you during meeting.  If you ever ask her what she did over the weekend, you’re guaranteed to hear how she spent time at church, read her bible, and praised the baby Jesus.  My skin starts burning if I get too close to her.  The other two people are devoid of any personality whatsoever.  In fact, in the 1+ I’ve worked there, I don’t think I’ve seen either of them smile.  Then again, if I had to work so closely to the bible thumper, I wouldn’t smile a lot either.

Anyway, it was up to the three to orchestrate a welcome lunch for my friend.  My Jewish friend who keeps kosher.  You can imagine how appalled when my friend was when she received an invitation for lunch at Heavenly Ham.  On Passover.

To this day Bible Thumper has no idea what she did wrong.

3 Responses to “Some of My Coworkers Are Infected with Stupidity”

  1. Teri Tighe September 10, 2011 at 10:44 am #

    LMAO! OMG, that was funny, about the lunch, I mean. Bible beaters are the weirdest people on the planet.

  2. AmericanBridget September 10, 2011 at 11:00 am #

    Which makes me wonder if BB did it on purpose or is truly so wrapped up in her own religion to even venture outside the box to see all the beauty in all other religions.

  3. phillgal September 10, 2011 at 6:05 pm #

    I’m a lady and a catholic so I won’t say what they can do with their bibles

Leave a Reply

