If I Die I’m Going to be Pissed

27 Aug

Really?  An earthquake and then a hurricane and now tornadoes?  Really?  Great.

I’m home.  Alone and now sitting in my damn closet because my basement is already flooded.

You know what?  This is scary.  Not like kind of funny scary when one can laugh it off, but scary scary like my heart is pounding and I’m on the verge of tears scary.  I can hear the rain and it’s loud and I’m on the verge of panicking.  If the winds pick up anymore I might pee myself.  I don’t remember the last time I was this scared.

I have a flashlight, towel, and water with me.  Just in case.

This seriously fucking sucks.  A lot.

7 Responses to “If I Die I’m Going to be Pissed”

  1. MsDarkstar August 27, 2011 at 11:23 pm #

    I hope you make it through all of Mother Nature’s PMSing and find something to laugh about in hindsight. Thinking good thoughts for you, m’lady.

  2. Jane Moneypenny August 28, 2011 at 1:50 am #

    I’m from New Orleans, so hurricanes have a mixture of both scaring me and not really bothering me at all. I promise you, it’ll be okay. 🙂 I’ve gone through a lot of hurricanes growing up and with the exception of Katrina, we always stuck around and it ended up okay. Yeah, things are messy and flooding is a pain in the butt, but I promise, it’ll be okay!

    During Hurricane Andrew, my mom’s car flooded (while they were in it) and they hiked a mile in waist-deep water to a friend’s house. We laugh about it now. Actually, pretty sure we laughed about it then…

    • Jane Moneypenny August 28, 2011 at 2:02 am #

      Whoa, I used “it’ll be okay” a lot. I’m tired.

  3. TheCVixen August 28, 2011 at 4:00 am #

    Wow, that sounds terrifying!

    I live in Canada, and not near the coasts so I’ve yet to experience a hurricane or earthquake. Tornadoes are scary as hell though, I’ve had a couple of those in my life – nothing that touched down near my house though.

  4. Chef Green August 28, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

    Miss Singleton,
    Another Southerner sends his regards your way. With the knowledge that comes with having lived through dozens of hurricanes, I will agree that you will be just fine. The Carolinian’s response to hurricanes is to drink heavily and mock the storm.

    Chin up! Wishing you well.

  5. maria August 28, 2011 at 4:40 pm #

    living in the midwest I’ve never had to deal with hurricanes . Tornados and Blizzards yes I am praying for all of you affected by Irene I hope you’ll be ok =)

  6. Teri Tighe August 28, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

    I feel for you. It’s seems 100 times worse being alone. I have to worry about my two cats, as well. more pressure. the tornado warnings were popping up all over the place, as well. Scary shit.

Leave a Reply

