I Have a New Found Love for Birth Control

21 Jun

For the last two years my mom has been on me to think about having kids on my own.  She spins an excellent argument, and I seriously considered it…right up until this week.  Taking care of Damien and Lucy(fer) on my own has given me a new appreciate for motherhood – especially for single motherhood.  I have to give MAD props to all the single moms out there.  Lord only knows how you fucking do it.  Especially the women that have full time jobs too.  God bless you.

For the most part, they’ve been pretty good.  There were several meltdowns yesterday, none of which were mine, and there was a moment when I seriously considered leaving them on the side of 95 North.  I did even offer to sell them at a low rate to some dude working at a 7-11.  No go.  But I still have a hard time managing to take care of them and myself at the same time.  They had 3 square meals, took their baths, went to the playground, and even made it to bed on time.

As for me?  Not so much.  No time for a shower, and zero square meals.  Breakfast found me nibbling on Lucy(fer)’s half eaten toast.  At lunch time both the kids ate my chicken nuggets so I was reduced to eating part of Lucy(fer)’s cold hamburger.  Dinner was a buttered tortilla that Damien decided he didn’t want.  It was cold by the time I got my hands on it.  And I realized the only thing I had to drink yesterday was a medium coke at lunch time.

Done a little better today.  I’ve had 2 cups of coffee…but haven’t eaten yet.  The kids finished all the bread for sandwiches so I’m going to have to scrounge in the fridge for something.

Laundry is getting done, floors have been vacuumed, but no one is dressed yet.

And I still haven’t taken a shower…

8 Responses to “I Have a New Found Love for Birth Control”

  1. my0wneyes June 21, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

    LOL…yes there are days like this…and they suck. The weekends are very similar for me…as I am a single mom working a full time job.
    Great post

  2. The T June 21, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

    Luckily I am one of those fun individualized bastards who doesn’t really worry about kids anymore..they are teenagers and they know everything…so i’m lucky that i simply lock the doors everynight, I smack em around if they disobey, and then i send them to school to gather enough wit to try to make it another year without beeing too hard of a burden once school ends and a career should begin…

    T.

  3. Emily June 21, 2011 at 6:05 pm #

    Oh, this so reminds me of when I volunteered to keep my niece and nephew for a week while their parents went on vacation. They were 2 and 4, and I didn’t shower until I put them to bed. They’re now 8 and 10 and MUCH easier. But I agree, good birth control!

    • Rainy June 25, 2011 at 1:42 am #

      I’ve got you both beat. My niece was 11 months and when I agreed, was just scooting, not even crawling. The week before they left for 10 days, my “wonderful” (let’s say that’s what I called him for this) taught her to FREAKING WALK!! She was into EVERYTHING! Oh, & if you stopped her from touching it, she screamed like someone was killing her! Definately birth control. ❤ Love that kid!

  4. Skylers Dad June 21, 2011 at 8:35 pm #

    That is really great that you are helping out with taking care of them. It is amazing how tough it is.

  5. Twittergirl419 June 22, 2011 at 12:05 am #

    I am one of those Single moms that work fulltime,have been for 16 years! lol And YES, I look and sound like this every freaking day! LOL Just glad there is no skyping on our blogs as of yet or you all would see the state of filth my house is, and wonder if I am truly human at times! LOL Bless you dear, and NO it is NOT all its craked up to be! WAIT!!
    (hows the bro in law?)

  6. grcl08 June 22, 2011 at 4:41 pm #

    Dear Catherinette,

    I’ve been following your blog and have noticed you write about being on your own and being ok with it!

    The reason I’m leaving you a comment is that I’m the intern for StageofLife.com, and I am looking for bloggers who might be interested in guest writing on our site.  Could we feature you?  We work with talented writers and bloggers to build a network of stories, crossing all stages of life, that will help make the world a better place, and I think our readers would gain a lot from your life perspective. 

    Thank you in advance for your time and consideration and I look forward to hearing from you if you are interested.  My email is glee123@live.kutztown.edu.  Thanks!  

    Gabriella

    Want to learn more about Stage of Life? Check out http://www.stageoflife.com

  7. Pkitass June 23, 2011 at 2:22 am #

    You rock as an auntie! Props for helping our your sister. How is your brother in law doing?

Leave a Reply

