Another Fun Tech Adventure with Mom

21 Apr

Those of you who have been reading this blog for some time know how technologically “savvy” (or retarded) my mother is.

Example: This evening I spent over an hour trying to explain to my mother why she couldn’t see something on my Facebook wall.  Have you ever tried to explain the theory of relativity to an infant?  It was about the same thing – only without the drooling or poopy diaper.

Then my mom decides to open up her email.  Progress here because she’s able to do this on her own without a 30 minute lesson on how to log in.  Kind of like when your kids learns how to ride a bike and you can take off the training wheels.  Oh, mom, I’m so proud of you.  She then proceeds to open up her junk mail and read through some of the content.  I see her staring at one email and then she BURSTS out laughing.  I actually think she may have peed herself just a little bit.

I asked her what was so funny and she just points to the screen and keeps on laughing.  I see the email she’s looking at is something about Christian singles meeting up or something stupid like that.  Then she points to the sender, it says it’s from Christian Mingle.  Okay, fine, not sure what the joke is.  Until she explains she thought it was sent by someone who’s name is Christian (first name) Mingle (last name).

Oh, mom.  She’s so cute sometimes.

If you’ll excuse me, I know have to explain to her how a blog post gets added to my Facebook wall.  Lord have mercy.

8 Responses to “Another Fun Tech Adventure with Mom”

  1. YoFabulous April 21, 2011 at 11:57 pm #

    Buahahahaha! This is my mom! I just spent 47 minutes on the phone with her walking her through attaching a file to an email. I used to get so frustrated on the phone with her telling me that she couldn’t see what I was telling her to click on. I finally resorted to using software that would let us share her screen so I could see what she was doing. Otherwise, I would need blood-pressure meds. Or crack.

  2. mairedubhtx April 22, 2011 at 8:26 am #

    At least you and your mom have a sense of humor. My daughter looks through my blogs to find what “terrible ” things I’ve said about her. I use her as a source of humor but she doesn’t like it. I wonder how she will react to my post today which is about her.

  3. The T April 22, 2011 at 9:18 am #

    sad… I’m always the guy who programs the new TV because it’s too technologically advanced…or I’ve got to show my dad where the power button is on his new laptop…I mean for REAL??? Didn’t they show that to you at bestbuy? Glad to see it’s not just me….

    T.

  4. Pkitass April 22, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

    Ha ha ha my mom is now just learning how to use her live email account. She called me about a week ago asking how she can read her emails thru Giggle.

    • Pkitass April 22, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

      Oh and she meant Google but was saying Giggle.

  5. suze April 22, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    My mom refers to it as “the facebook”. sigh…

  6. Joanne April 23, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

    Ha Ha loved this, my mum is exactly the same, when she is using a mobile phone it takes for ever and trying to explain anything to do with television or technology is just the worst, but mums will be mums and we love em for it.

  7. Contributing Citizen April 28, 2011 at 4:32 am #

    Actually, if my mom were still alive, she would probably pride herself on knowing all the computer stuff. She’d take classes until it clicked and then she would have driven me bonkers with weird guilt laden emails and Facebook entries – not to mention fifty pictures of me as a naked baby (blush). My problem children are my sister and my son. For sissie, I think the problem
    Is her vision sucks and she doesn’t want to admit it. My son, on the other hand, has some dark ages religious stuff going on about the computer being the hand-tool of Satin. He lives on Arizona and I live in Oregon. I keep telling him if he had Skype, I might actually be able to have a relationship with my grandkids. I have NO idea how this person came from inside MY body. Sigh. I am a faith-based person but have NEVER been religious. Comes from his dad. I keep praying my son will over it. Lol.

Leave a Reply

