All Dolled Up

6 Mar

Every once in awhile BBC America airs some GREAT (and disturbing) documentaries.  My favorite, by fair, was the one about men who purchased synthetic, or real, dolls.  These dolls are life sized dolls, with orifices, and you’ll be shocked to hear the dudes were creeps. The one who takes the cake, however, is this dude named Davecat.  You’ll be surprised to hear he still lived in his parents’ home…in the basement.  He claimed (and still does) to be in loved with his doll, Sidore.

He was recently featured in an episode of My Strange Addiction.  Apparently, he and his doll are now “married”.  Not quite sure how that happens.  AND both he AND his doll have twitter accounts.  Being the crazy person I am, I’ve decided to follow both of them.  Obviously her account is crazier than his because, well, she’s a fucking doll.  Last time I checked, dolls aren’t alive and they can’t tweet.

The beauty of the whole thing is you can submit questions to her and she will respond to you!!  Yesterday I was hanging out with Jersey Bell and Oingo Boingo and reading her answers to them.  One person asked her if she and Davecat ever got into fights.  My first thought was, why are you asking a doll a question?  And then I kind of went to the way of, she’s a doll and dolls don’t talk back when you argue with them.  Boy!  Was I wrong!  Apparently, early on in their relationship, they used to bicker a lot.  I mean, can you imagine this scene?  Him sitting in his mom and dad’s basement arguing with a life sized doll?  If that’s not crazy, I don’t know what is.

But wait, it gets better.

Someone asked her if she was English?  Again, I’d like to remind you she’s a doll.  Here’s her response:

Technically, I’m half-Japanese (dad’s side) and half-English (mum’s side). I was born in a district of Tokyo, then my parents and I moved to Weatherfield, a suburb of Greater Manchester, when I was five. I still have the accent, thankfully — my lad says I sound like Shirley Henderson out of ’24 hour party people’ — but I’ve forgotten most of my Japanese! 😦

Um, she has an accent but she forgot her Japanese?  REALLY??  She’s a doll!  A.  Doll!!

19 Responses to “All Dolled Up”

  1. Teri March 6, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

    ROFLMAO!

    I really have no words for this post.

    AND I did see some of that episode on My Strange Addiction but had to turn it because it was stupid and freaked me out.

    • Catherinette March 6, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

      By “stupid” do you mean “AWESOME”??

  2. Grey Goose, Dirty March 6, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

    I don’t know what’s creepier, the fact that this is even happening or the fact that I just watched the weirdo remove her tongue when he got all pervily excited about ‘alone time’.

    And, uh, why wasn’t the dude in the doll repair shop wearing gloves (or a haz mat suit) when he was checking her out.

    I feel dirty ……

    • Catherinette March 6, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

      Can you imagine how freaking dirty the damn doll feels??

  3. Amber March 6, 2011 at 11:29 pm #

    I was also wondering who would touch that doll after he’d had a “relationship” with her for 6 years. Does he bathe her? I guess he’d have to. Imagine 6 years worth of spooge…ugh, the smell that would be.

  4. Hookdntx March 7, 2011 at 10:19 am #

    how is it not considered a disorder when the person is talking to someone who isn’t there? I mean I feel like he might be a serial killer in the making.

  5. BeckEye March 7, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    Yeah, you know, these guys are never cute and sweet like Ryan Gosling in “Lars and the Real Girl.”

  6. maria March 7, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    omg thanks for this post I about fell off my chair lauging!!! Man I thought I had issues, Im no where near as bad as this guy lmao

  7. jon March 7, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

    This explains market share and viewer demographics for a 24-hour doll-collecting channel.

  8. Del-V March 7, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

    I no longer feel weird about collecting Hummel figurines after seeing this guy.

  9. Catherine March 7, 2011 at 8:57 pm #

    LOL this is friggin’ nuts. I guess whatever works right? Different strokes for… hahaha. I gotta admit. It’s just too crazy for me!

  10. Bucky March 11, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

    I think I used to date her. She appears to kiss exactly the same way now as she did back then.

  11. pinkunderbelly March 13, 2011 at 1:22 pm #

    To me, the funniest part of this post is that it’s categorized in “pathetic.” Love it!

  12. thewestsider March 15, 2011 at 11:53 pm #

    Creeeeeepy!!! OMG…but i laughed because it really is pathetic…I’ll be back for more stuff to laugh too. Be sure to check out my blog as well 🙂 thewestsider.wordpress.com 🙂

  13. divadeesdiscussions March 16, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

    I had to add this one to my blog as well! Thanks for posting this…pure craziness!

  14. auishtha March 18, 2011 at 10:05 am #

    My stomach hurts out of too much laughing. This post is awesome!

  15. Michelle March 19, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

    I saw that documentary and I am sure I had my mouth hanging open the whole time. SO bizarre!!! One guy had that whole collection, remember? I think he was the one that tried dating a real woman and introduced her to his dolls (their relationshp didn’t last. Shocking!). They are seriously expensive and it was extremely weird to me- especially that they do this openly- I mean, what are his parents thinking? Hello- psych ward.

    I am not surprised they have twitter accounts. How NUTS! I can understand you following them, though. Like a train wreck! Can’t look away. You should keep us posted on your favorite updated on their twitter!

  16. EricDoesNotExist March 26, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

    Us Brits may be annoying and have bad teeth (not. Well, not most of us) but we sure as hell make good documentaries.
    And most creepy dudes who live in England are a) called Dave and b) live in Weatherfield. With their parents, naturally.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hi, My name is Davecat and my wife is a porcelain doll, HUH? | divadeesdiscussions - March 16, 2011

    […] friend to check out a rather ‘interesting’ blog posting by my fellow wordpress blogger Catherinette, my mouth has yet to close after my discovery.  It seems that a man in the Detroit area has […]

Leave a Reply

