The Stupid Things Girls Do

11 Jan

Folgers and I had an interesting conversation today about the stupid things girls do.  Why do we, as chicks, do slutty things with dudes who we don’t really like, but make the guys we really like wait before we put out?  Really, why do we do that?  This all came up when we were talking about the terrible date I went on with Bob the Builder over the summer.  For the life of him, he couldn’t understand why I would make out with a guy I had zero intention of seeing again.  The response of “it seemed like a good idea at the time,” didn’t quite do the trick.  He was even more confused when I announced I typically don’t kiss someone on the first date.

  • Folgers: Wait a second, so you kissed this douche bag, but you don’t usually kiss someone on the first date.
  • Me: Yes, that’s right.
  • Folgers: So why would you kiss him?
  • Me: I don’t know.  I guess we were both there and I had needs or something.
  • Folgers: But you didn’t plan on seeing him again?
  • Me: Yes.
  • Folgers: What on earth would you have done if you liked him??
  • Me: Nothing.
  • Folgers:  Wait.  So if you had liked him you wouldn’t have done anything with him but since you didn’t like him you made out with him all over Philadelphia?
  • Me: That’s about right.
  • Folgers: You realize that makes zero sense, right?
  • Me: It makes sense to me.
  • Folgers: I think you’re retarded.

You know what?  He has a point.  Why do we do that?  As I think back to what I was thinking when I kissed Bob the Builder, I really have no idea why I would kiss him when I wasn’t sure whether or not there would be a second date.  Isn’t that sending mixed singles?  But I guess I didn’t really care.

Meanwhile, if I had really liked him, I never would have let him kiss me.  Why?  Because I wouldn’t want him to think I was that kind of a girl.  Even though, clearly, I totally am.  It just doesn’t make sense.  The only thing I can come up with is as women we give ourselves in different way.  God knows.  I’m thinking this one might keep me up at night.

 

13 Responses to “The Stupid Things Girls Do”

  1. Lola January 11, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

    Totally agree with you, this is how we work.

  2. Wynn January 12, 2011 at 10:37 am #

    I think it has to do with the social stigma of being a girl that just makes out with people here and there. Dudes that don’t do anything on the first date (probably very often) are trying to keep a good image up too, because hell, dudes are.. easy. Pretty much always.

  3. Teri January 12, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

    I really have to agree with Folgers. You are the biggest goof. That makes no sense. I can’t even kiss someone unless I like them. lol

    you’re hopeless.

  4. e January 12, 2011 at 3:30 pm #

    Yea, that is nutty. But i do it all the time. Not just with boys but with everyone. I act all kinds of crazy around people I know I won’t be long time friends with. But around people I like to be friends with I hold the crazy back for awhile. That’s just how it is…

  5. jon January 12, 2011 at 4:07 pm #

    Your actions may have confused Bob but confusion is a normal feeling for most men in there dealings with women. This is why men almost never stop to ask directions.

  6. amanalynn January 12, 2011 at 4:12 pm #

    It makes sense and it doesn’t. I know what you mean though. I wouldn’t want to give off the wrong impression to a boy I like, but who cares what kind of impression you give to someone you don’t like, right? Maybe that’s why we do it.
    No guy wants a slutty wifey, so if you want to be the wifey image to a guy you gotta act with a little more class.

  7. jo January 13, 2011 at 3:36 am #

    yes, it makes no sense at all but yes, i also have done the same thing. i think when you aren’t really interested in the guy, you don’t particularly care what he thinks and in general just don’t think too much and do whatever you feel like in the moment.

  8. TheRealJohnson January 13, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    It makes perfect sense. With someone you don’t care about, there are no stakes, so what the hell. But if you’re interested, you’re in your head about what he’ll think. The lesson then, ladies is clear here: blow every guy on the first date.

  9. kristina January 13, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    Since you already knew you’d never see him again (on a date, anyway), you thought you give him the thrill, pleasure and priviledge of getting a small taste of what he would never get to have the “full meal deal” of…

    aka THIS is what you’ll be missing out on, dude!

  10. Krissypoo January 18, 2011 at 11:31 pm #

    It makes absolute perfect sense to me, but probably because I do the same crap. I’ll totally make out with a guy that I don’t plan on seeing again, but get super shy with a guy I’d like to see again. I’m ‘seeing’ a guy that I’m indifferent about now, but that doesn’t stop me from feeling him up. Gotta get something out of the situation, right?

  11. Red January 20, 2011 at 9:54 pm #

    Sometimes it’s also that it’s been awhile, AND you don’t know where your next meal is coming from, so to speak.

  12. dagnydarling January 26, 2011 at 4:15 am #

    I typically SAY I don’t kiss guys on the first date, but almost always do. And by almost always, I mean always always. Normally I don’t like them, I just feel like it’s the polite thing to do, because I’m classy like that.

  13. Chantelle Fairman September 13, 2011 at 7:26 am #

    This is the exact conversation I had with a male friend the other day, should i wanna see the guy again he gets nothing… if not, i’ll go for the snog, hey I fancied him enough to agree to going to the first date…

Leave a Reply

