Work Marriage

15 Dec

Most of us have one: a work spouse. It’s the guy or girl you hang out with at work and just seem to click with. Sometimes there’s a little undercurrent of a little something-something, but for the most part they provide a type of moral support for you. You may turn to them to bitch about your job, or your loved ones, or to get them to hold the door for you or maybe carry heavy things. The point isn’t too hook up at work, in fact, these relationships are supposed to be platonic. Otherwise a big fat mess ensues and
then you have to go through work couples counseling and may end up getting a work divorce. Then you have to figure out who gets the pantry and who gets the copy room. It’s freaking messy.

For many of the years I worked at Investments r Us Disney was my work spouse. He was there when I needed him and was always willing to sexually harass me when I was feeling fat. He was good like that. He never ever made a pass at me, though I don’t doubt if I had made a pass at him he would have probably gone along with it. I also don’t doubt that if his wife knew about half the stuff we talked about, she’d probably kick his ass twice and make him cry.

I can’t seem to find a decent man to date, but there are a bevy of work spouses from which to choose from. Office Adonis thought he was my work husband, I played along. Mainly because I didn’t have the heart to tell him if he wanted to be my work spouse we could never ever hook up. And since we did, the work marriage is null and void. I just haven’t told him yet.

Folgers is my work husband at Widgets & Co. We hit it off from the get go. I knew he had a little thing for me and he’s over stepped some bounds, but he’s never touched me. Though, again, I don’t doubt if I gave him any indication I was into him he’d be all over me like white on rice.

So here’s my question: if I can find a work spouse, why on God’s green earth can’t I find a normal unattached dude to date? Where are they all freaking hiding?

5 Responses to “Work Marriage”

  1. Sarah December 15, 2010 at 11:04 pm #

    They’re all at Hooters doing Yeager Bombs with guys like Adonis.
    PS-don’t drink a bottle of wine, and then watch “Definately. Maybe.” it will NOT make you feel better about being single.

  2. Charlie December 16, 2010 at 8:52 am #

    why on God’s green earth can’t I find a normal unattached dude to date?

    Define normal? Cuz from where I sit, everywhere is normal AND everyone is fucked up.

  3. bye2mrwrong December 16, 2010 at 8:55 am #

    According to your blog, apparently their all hiding at work, busy with their work spouses.

    Maybe instead of hopping from bar to bar, you need to hop from job to job to find them 😉

  4. trininista December 16, 2010 at 5:36 pm #

    I have a school husband but yes….I echo your sentiments on finding a real one.

  5. diaryofahater December 20, 2010 at 11:21 am #

    he work husband relationship is easy because there are defined boundaries in place. Like you said, if you actually hook up you cannot classify the relationship as work husband anymore. Hey, look at it like this…it is great platonic practice for the real thing. Your work husband is almost like your own little dating coach by giving you and glimpse into the male mind. Excellent research for your next real love interest.

Leave a Reply

