A “Touching” Conversation

7 Dec

It’s usually my mother with whom I have strange conversations.  (Check me out!  I used “whom” correctly in a sentence!)  This afternoon, however, my sister played the role of the touched person in the conversation.  As I do on most days, I called her on my way home from work.  Today the conversation turned to something a little bit more topical (but not like a topical cream, I don’t need that):

  • Me: Did you hear Elizabeth Edwards died?
  • Sister: She did?  That’s terrible!  Very sad!  I had no idea.
  • Me: Yeah, they just released the news about 15 minutes ago.
  • Sister: Ugh, awful.  What happened?
  • Me: Well, apparently the Cancer came back and the doctors told her there was nothing they could do.  They apparently had given her weeks to live, but I guess it took her faster than they thought.  Very sad.
  • Sister:  Terrible.  She was a good actress.
  • Me: What?
  • Sister:  I said she was a good actress.
  • Me:  What are you talking about?
  • Sister:  Katherine Hepburn was good actress.
  • Me:  Not Katherine Hepburn!!  I said ELIZABETH EDWARDS!
  • Sister:  OH!!  Oh, I totally thought you said Katherine Hepburn!  And wait, didn’t she die like 20 years ago?
  • Me:  Uh, yeah, she died a long time ago.  Way to listen!
  • Sister:  Sorry!  I didn’t hear you!
  • Me:  Fine, whatever.  Anyway, in other news, I have two pimples.
  • Sister:  You do??
  • Me: Yes, I sure do.  I’m very excited about it.
  • Sister:  When did you get those?
  • Me:  This morning.
  • Sister:  You know, they’re not allowed off leash in the state of Maryland.
  • Me:  What?
  • Sister:  Yeah, they have to be on leash at all times.
  • Me:  No, I heard you, but I don’t know what you’re talking about.
  • Sister:  Pit bulls are dangerous, they have to be on leash. You did say “pit bulls” didn’t you?
  • Me: Uh, no, I said pimples.
  • Sister:  Oh, I was wondering why you would get a pit bull!
6 Responses to “A “Touching” Conversation”

  1. Nicole @Laugh Outloud December 7, 2010 at 7:57 pm #

    OMG! This made me giggle outloud!

  2. inidna December 7, 2010 at 11:35 pm #

    Ha, sounds like a conversation I’d have with my sister. *Hand to Forehead*

  3. Hookdntx December 8, 2010 at 11:49 am #

    This reminds me of many a conversation with my younger sister, the one of note is my siter did not eralize that the chicken you eat is an actual chisken’s muscle (this conversation occured when she was 19).

  4. mostfunctionaldysfunctional December 11, 2010 at 1:33 am #

    So funny. This is like the conversations I have with everyone!

  5. Caatherine December 11, 2010 at 11:23 am #

    Lol!!

  6. gennifer with a g December 14, 2010 at 1:37 pm #

    hilarious!!

Leave a Reply

