Not Your Daughter’s Jeans

31 Aug

There are times when my own stupidity surprises me. Why oh why do I put myself in these situations? WHY??

A few weeks ago a new friend of mine told me she wanted to set me up with a friend of hers. I trusted her to know me well enough to have an idea as to whether/not this would be a good idea, so I said yes. She gave him my contact information and the next day I had an email from him. Nothing out of this world, but nice enough. I responded. He asked if I might like to meet for drinks, and Boom Boom encouraged me to take a chance, so once again I said yes.

The day after I told him yes it occurred to me that I hadn’t seen a picture of this guy and I asked my friend to hunt one down. You can imagine my dismay when she sent me a picture of the King of Queens with a goatee and mom jeans. UGH?? WTF?? Seriously, is this what she thinks I like? I clearly stated that I am very much into the wrapping and don’t always care about the substance – which is probably why most of my relationships have failed.

Now I’m stuck having drinks with Mom Jeans. Tonight.

I hate myself.

13 Responses to “Not Your Daughter’s Jeans”

  1. Conflicted Mean Girl August 31, 2010 at 1:33 pm #

    Don’t worry, if he lives up to his wardrobe he’ll just have an iced tea and be back in his minivan heading home by 10ish.

  2. Spree August 31, 2010 at 1:54 pm #

    OH NO…now I’m really dreading the friend fixups when I’m ready to date…

  3. Del-V August 31, 2010 at 2:05 pm #

    Those aren’t pleats in his jeans, those are vents so his junk can breathe in his pants.

  4. Mike August 31, 2010 at 4:43 pm #

    Who knows he may have a yellow Mustang.

  5. Pkitass August 31, 2010 at 4:57 pm #

    all I ask of you is to pleeeeeeeease take pictures!

  6. KiKi August 31, 2010 at 6:15 pm #

    I. Am. Crying.

    BWAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHA. Dude, I know I shouldn’t laugh, but that. is. awesome!!!

    I’ll bet he has mom jean jorts in his closet for hot days….

  7. Skylers Dad August 31, 2010 at 7:00 pm #

    Not to worry, he probably doesn’t sweat… much…

  8. Dani August 31, 2010 at 7:16 pm #

    Turns out – friends are not good judges when it comes to setups. Trust.

  9. jon August 31, 2010 at 7:49 pm #

    King of Queens with a goatee and mom jeans is what new friend thought you meant when you said that you wanted sex in the worst way. bwahahah…

  10. mscori August 31, 2010 at 9:03 pm #

    He probably has a few reindeer sweaters in his closet to match. Super sex.

  11. Scott August 31, 2010 at 9:46 pm #

    Magic 8 ball says: this is your future husband.

    • Dani August 31, 2010 at 9:55 pm #

      Man, Magic 8 balls can be so cruel!

  12. Loveinthedumps September 13, 2010 at 11:02 am #

    Why is he called mom jeans again? Does his jeans have pleats? ’cause those are coming back in. Just sayin.

Leave a Reply

