Get a Room

8 Aug

How many of us have seen a couple groping each other in public and thought, “God, can’t they freaking control themselves?  Do they have to expose us to that utter nonsense?  I’m disgusted!”  And then there are those of us that have probably been the targets of jeers like:

“Get a room!”

“Way to go!”

And even, “Get some!”

Coincidentally, I may or may not have heard some of those very things last week when I was making out with Bob the Builder all over the downtown Philadelphia area.  Sure, he was more interested in “making love” and not touching my “bad parts” (nothing sounds as sexy as some dude saying how much he wants to touch your “bad parts” and how scared he is to go down on a chick because he has no idea what the hell he’s doing).  You still must be so shocked that I passed on that.

Anyway, Friday Boom Boom and I were up in NYC for the afternoon and evening.  Being the awesome people that we are, we were attending the Nintendo dinner at BlogHer.  I gotta tell you, being a blogger is pretty sweet sometimes.  They hosted everything, we showed up, drank their booze, ate their delicious food, and even walked away with new DS XLs.  Thanks, Nintendo!

On our way home, we spotted a couple on a corner that was just going to town.  My first instinct was to just mock them and bad mouth them – mainly because that’s in my DNA.  But there was something about the way that he held her face, and she had her hand on his waist that prevented me from doing it.

Sometimes, you can tell that two people really love each other, and I’m happy I caught it on film.  For all the times I love to take pictures of people on the sly when they’re looking like total ass monkeys, it’s nice to capture something good too.

Cheers to that couple, I only wish I had gotten their email addresses so I could have forwarded them the picture.

16 Responses to “Get a Room”

  1. Conflicted Mean Girl August 8, 2010 at 6:10 pm #

    When I see people that affectionate in public I usually assume they either 1)just met or 2) are married…to other people.

    I commend your positive outlook.

    • ifUseekAmy August 9, 2010 at 5:11 pm #

      I always see people rolling around (or dry-humping) in Central Park… during daylight hours… in front of everyone. I’ve actually seen pants down to knees while this goes on.

      I always attribute it to 1) very young, or like you Conflicted Mean Girl, 2) married to other people

  2. Les DuLunch August 9, 2010 at 9:51 am #

    They’re probably happy enough with the pictures they got later – after they got a room.

  3. Melanie August 9, 2010 at 10:04 am #

    You got another new DS? You whore. Now that you are gone, who is going to host the one here in DC? Gahhh…

  4. saucyredhead August 9, 2010 at 11:21 am #

    Who are you & what have you dine with the Catherinette I know & love? The one who would have made snarky comments about this couple instead of fawning over them? For the record, I agree with you but it’s just so unexpected!

  5. WendyB August 9, 2010 at 12:45 pm #

    Wait, is that Mark Hurd of Hewlett-Packard and the reality-show woman he didn’t sleep with???

  6. Elizabeth Barrett August 9, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

    That is a gorgeous photo that, you’re right, captures being in love. I hope you figure out who they are – and that they’re still together when they get the pic!

    On a completely different note, the main character in One Click Away is falling in lust today. The fellow she meets looks like the one in the picture above but she’s turning 40. If you want to purr without venturing into the cougar’s den, this is a safe way, fun and pure fantasy. Take a peek, and Happy Prowling!

    Elizabeth

  7. Vegetable Assassin August 9, 2010 at 6:20 pm #

    I was at the beach yesterday and I swear to God this guy and girl were doing it in the water ten feet from me. Like three times throughout the day. I mean good on them I guess but really, try to look like you’re hugging or something rather than out and out boning. Plus lake water isn’t the best lube dude… (allegedly)

  8. kathcom August 10, 2010 at 6:05 pm #

    I’m glad you had fun with your man in Philly and enjoyed your time in the Big Apple. That couple does look like they’re completely into each other. It won’t last.

  9. Jen August 11, 2010 at 2:16 pm #

    They obviously don’t have kids.

  10. Red August 11, 2010 at 10:21 pm #

    I’m remembering a hot half hour by the elevators in Grand Central Station (it was late), and an hour maybe more spent rolling around on the National Mall. (It was dark.) In both of those cases, we had just met. I also remember making out in the streets of Missoula, MT, but that was a sad, desperate, low-self-esteem thing. One date only. Though I can’t imagine that in any of the above instances I looked oh-so-in-love, seeing as I wasn’t, not in any of those cases.

    Sorry it didn’t go better with Bob. Did he have the body of a construction worker?

  11. Pkitass August 13, 2010 at 11:46 am #

    Nice picture,but did you notice the other guy is getting a handy?

  12. She who will not be tamed August 14, 2010 at 8:49 pm #

    Throw it up on Craigslist, someone will know how they are. Usually in NYC you see the gross makeout sessions, this was a cute one, way to go!

    On a side note, please don’t ever write like this again. There was not a bit of assholeness in it and for a minute I was confused as to what blog I was reading.

  13. Britanny August 19, 2010 at 6:15 am #

    You’re right, there’s something in the way he helds her face. It seems so sweet!

    I found your blog by chance but I liked it, so I’ll keep on reading you from now on 😉

  14. Piedad Helde November 17, 2010 at 9:25 pm #

    Google TV looks really magnificent. I am not sure if I wish to get a lcd tv with it integrated or a standalone box.

Leave a Reply

