Ring! Ring! It’s the Clue Phone!

30 Jul

Ah, the wonderful joys of dating in a new city.  Shoot me now.  It’s been three months since I moved to Philly, and two months since I took the plunge and signed up for voldematch.com.  Good times, good times.  Man do you have to week through some frogs to get to that prince.  There are some really nice guys, I just haven’t found them yet.

I did, however, go out on a date a few weeks back…and I kept it from you.  I WITHHELD INFORMATION!  Can you believe I did that to you?  God, I’m such a bitch.  You’ll be happy to know that you didn’t miss much.  It was three hours of sitting at Starbucks listening to this guy rattle on about engineering and sailing.  Really nice guy but there was less than no spark.  If a negative spark exists, we had it.  Seriously, zero chemistry.  Nice guy, I’m sure that he’ll be a great catch for someone, it’s just not going to be me.  He was a little awkward and it made me a little uncomfortable when he would make some lame jokes.  I wanted to fake laugh but couldn’t bring myself to do it.

When I left I thought, “Peace out, dude!” and that would be it.  So wrong.

Here we are, a month later, I haven’t returned any of his six phone calls, four text messages, or three voldematch.com messages.  I guess I should have followed Boom Boom’s advice and just told him I wasn’t interested, however, in my mind after a three hour date, I didn’t owe him that.  Yeah, guess the no return of any contact wasn’t a strong enough hint.  Yesterday he sent me ANOTHER freaking message asking me what went wrong.

Really, dude?  Really?

So now I’m going to suck it up and respond to him.  I hate doing this since the laws of the world dictate that if someone doesn’t call you back it’s because they’re not interested.  Crap, here I go…

12 Responses to “Ring! Ring! It’s the Clue Phone!”

  1. watergirl July 30, 2010 at 10:56 am #

    Yikes.. I feel your pain.. also.. I try to avoid engineers.. although they always seem to find me. Total lack of imagination and definite rigidness.. I love labels!

    • cassyanne July 30, 2010 at 11:18 am #

      ahh the dreaded letdown. you have to admire his perserverance though. yeah i don’t think you owe him much since it was one lousy meet-up (hardly a date when the tab is $8.27 for two mocha lattes). good luck, at least you have the internet to keep you from doing it face to face. or maybe you could send a blimp over his house…really, how intense must the message be to sink in for him??!

      cassyanne.wordpress.com

  2. Pkitass July 30, 2010 at 2:46 pm #

    act 12 and have a one of your friends tell him. 🙂

  3. Queenie July 30, 2010 at 2:56 pm #

    Engineers= some of them are so smart, they’re dumb.

  4. rubywildflower July 31, 2010 at 8:14 pm #

    OH NO! I thought it was just chicks like me that did that!
    Tuff sitch for you babe. Can I suggest being nice but firm? Something like “you’re great but there is no chemistry between us, thank you for your time”. Then no more texting. Ever again.
    You maneater you!

  5. Polin July 31, 2010 at 9:39 pm #

    I hate to be left hanging, so I try not to do it to guys. I usually follow un-sparked dates with a thank, but no thank note and close shop pretty quickly. That has helped me cut strings before they get tangled and feel good about myself in the process.

  6. lster921 August 1, 2010 at 2:53 pm #

    Oh Baby! You gotta tell him! He may be under the misconception that he is the “shhhheeeeeiiiiittttt!” asd that may even be bolstered by the dumbass in the next cubicle or the titters he gets from the check out girl at the office depot when he goes to buy paper.
    I can hear his head working now…”What could have possibly gone wrong?”
    And 3 hours at a Starbucks? Wow.

  7. Gennifer6 August 1, 2010 at 2:54 pm #

    Agreeing with Polin, the sooner we say no the better, esp. if he’s a genuinely nice guy. I do think he should have gotten the message already, though. 🙂

  8. jon August 2, 2010 at 11:47 am #

    Sounds like he has wanted to meet a girl like you ever since he got his first slide rule and sextant. Not you, but a girl like you.

  9. Vodka and Ground Beef August 2, 2010 at 5:02 pm #

    I hate when I have to tell men I’ve just been out on ONE date with:

    “Hey, thanks for your emails, texts, phone messages, letters, tweets, and the naked photos you sent. While I’m keeping the naked photos for various reasons, I’m just not interested right now, soon, or ever. It’s not me, it’s you, and it’s just something you’ll have to live with. I’m sure you have a lot of things going for you, but I couldn’t tell what any of them were. Anyway, take care, or not – either way.”

    I feel this is a gentle, loving way to kind of let someone know you’re not interested. Let me know what you think.

    Where on earth were you earlier today? I totally could have used this information when I gave the boot to the next guy. -CS

    • Clicking Frogs August 4, 2010 at 7:46 pm #

      Perfect… I must steal and use this reply.

  10. Elizabeth Barrett August 2, 2010 at 7:08 pm #

    You are laugh out loud funny and have a wicked wit that serves you well!! I am writing a similar tale at http://www.afacebookstory-oneclickaway.blogspot.com. I hope you will take a peek.

    Good luck with the man. They are so damn difficult. I know, I live in a houseful of them!!

Leave a Reply

