Even Better than “Who’s on First”

29 Jul

I’m sitting here with Depeche Mode as we’re both “working” from home today.  The discussion turns to names and we begin discussing how much we both hate the name Bob.  Hate.  A lot.  Then we move on to the following:

  • Depeche Mode: I don’t like the name Bobby for a grown man.
  • Me: It’s kind of cute, not so bad.
  • Depeche Mode: Where do you stand on Robby?
  • Me: Ugh, hate that for an adult.
  • Depeche Mode: What about Robb with 2 b’s?
  • Me: That’s just stupid.
  • Depeche Mode: Yeah, I don’t get it.
  • Me: So where do you stand?  Are you 2 b’s or not 2 b’s.

That’s when I proceeded to laugh and laugh because I love stupid puns.  I was then promptly told by Depeche Mode not to do that at his table.

Shakespeare is rolling over in his grave right now.

God, I seriously crack myself up sometimes.

6 Responses to “Even Better than “Who’s on First””

  1. teri July 29, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

    Hey, you’ve got to entertain yourself, somehow.

    I like Rob for Robert, personally. Not a huge fan of Bob but don’t hate it.

    You two are so profound. What’s the next topic? You don’t like the color of your shoe laces?

  2. Evenrant July 29, 2010 at 2:45 pm #

    Bobbert.

  3. HookdnTX July 29, 2010 at 3:14 pm #

    have you been watching too many male enhancement commercials? I believe that “bob” is on the Enzyte (sp?) commercial

  4. Conflicted Mean Girl July 29, 2010 at 8:19 pm #

    I’ve never met a Robb but I know two Jenn’s.

    I’m not smart enough to come up with a 2 N’s pun. Dammit.

  5. Queenie July 31, 2010 at 9:15 am #

    I think the name “Bobby” can only be used in jokes that mention little kids, other than that no Bobby…like the dude on The Hills “Justin Bobby”, it just doesn’t work for me. Robby? I dated a guy named Robby in high school and I still have flashbacks. I will never date another Robby again, and I do mean never!

  6. Red July 31, 2010 at 7:51 pm #

    I, too, love puns. I liked “2 bs…”

    Most of the Robs I’ve met in recent years are attractive friends of the guy I was currently dating. (Two different guys, at least three Robs I can think of.)And they’re always taken, too, but you can tell that they were trouble when they were single. You can just tell.

    There was a Rob, however, that I actually dated when I was oh-so-very-young, and he wasn’t attractive, or fun, or trouble. He was dull and harmless.

    I once had a teacher who went by Robb, kind of a tool. But I have a friend from college named Robbie and he’s great.

Leave a Reply

