Close Your Mouth and LISTEN

26 Apr

I don’t know whether to get my mother a hearing aid or to throttle her.  Right now, I’m leaning more towards the throttling.  She does this wicked super awesome thing where she asks me my plans for the week and then either ignores me, forgets, or can’t hear so she keeps asking me.

Tonight is girls’ night with several of my friends.  We’re hitting up one of my all time favorite places, Woodberry Kitchen (so good).  The plans were made a few weeks ago and I know that I’ve told her at least six times.  Yesterday was the fifth time.  I contained myself when she asked me if I could come over and I told her (AGAIN) that I was going to Woodberry Kitchen with my friends.

This morning we went through the entire conversation again.

  • Mom: Can you come over tonight to [insert some lame chore that I’d rather gouge out my left eye than doing]?
  • Me: No, I have plans.
  • Mom: You do?
  • Me: Yes, I do.  We’ve talked about this.
  • Mom: [annoyed] No we haven’t, this is the first time I’ve heard of anything.
  • Me: Are you serious?
  • Mom: YES!  And you know what, if you don’t want to do [lame chore] you don’t have to make things up.  You can just tell me you don’t want to do it.
  • Me: Mom, I told you over a week ago that I was going out with my girlfriends.
  • Mom: [seriously annoyed] No, you did not.  This is the first I’m hearing of it.
  • Me: No it isn’t, we have talked about this before.  I’m going to Woodberry Kitchen.
  • Mom: Oh, that’s right.  I forgot.
4 Responses to “Close Your Mouth and LISTEN”

  1. jen April 26, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

    I know this dance all too well…

    • Catherinette April 27, 2010 at 6:33 pm #

      Wouldn’t it be fun if we could just sit this one out? -CS

  2. Allie April 26, 2010 at 6:05 pm #

    Yeah. I have this same issue with my aunt. I can have an entire conversation with her about something, say, the fact that I just baked banana bread. Then, when the conversation is over, in the next sentence, she’ll ask “So, did you bake that banana bread you were going to bake?” OMFG, I could come through the phone!! I think it’s because a) she’s getting older and b) she’s always watching TV when she’s on the phone. She’s not *really* listening.

    • Catherinette April 27, 2010 at 6:33 pm #

      You should totally start making shit up when she does that. -CS

Leave a Reply

