No Sharing

4 Apr

For the last several years the whole family has gone to the Cape for a summer vacation.  An all expense paid trip (by my mom).  She’s generous, and we try to be thankful, but every once in awhile we are ingrates.  My brother-in-law and I will usually pick up some of the meals, the tolls, and some of the gas money it takes to drive us all up there.  We’d love to throw in more but we’re all poor compared to my mom.

This year I am trying to do my part and offered to pay $1000 towards the trip.  Not a ton of money, but enough that she won’t get burdened with the whole cost.  What throws the whole thing off is that my uncle will be joining us for this year’s vacation.  That’s seven people in one house.

My mom likes to think that we can get a four bedroom house, I like to think that she’s insane.  I recognize that there’s a cost saving factor there, but we can easily find a five bedroom house for the same cost.  Plus what royally pisses me off is knowing that she won’t get the master bedroom – instead she’d end up sharing a twin bedroom with me and my sister and brother-in-law would get the master bedroom.  Let me point out that my sister isn’t demanding the master bedroom, I just know that my mom would give them the room because they’re the only married ones.  That’s nice for them and all, but I always get stuck in a fucking single bed and I hate single beds.  You know, I think this one year that I’m giving money towards the trip I deserve my own room too

I don’t think it’s right that my mom shells out 90% of the money and then ends up in a twin room.  She doesn’t think there’s anything wrong with that.  It makes me want to put my hands around her neck and give her a little shake til she turns purple.  No.  Just no.  With all the money that she pays she deserves the master bedroom.  She is paying for the whole house, why would she be fine with a twin sized room?  No.  NO!

We found a really nice house that has five bedrooms and is 10 minutes away from town.  For some reason, she’d rather take the four bedroom house that’s near the water.  Fuck that.  Yeah it’s convenient to the beach, but fuck that I have to share a room.

My name is Catherinette Singleton, and I’m a brat.

7 Responses to “No Sharing”

  1. Allie April 4, 2010 at 11:14 pm #

    I agree that your mom should get the master bedroom. 100%, no negotiation. It’s ridiculous that she doesn’t.

    I don’t think you’re a brat at all (I can be a real pain in the ass when I get going) but…I haven’t been on a vacation of any kind in five years. Can’t afford one, can’t take the time off. I would love to share a room with someone if it meant I was actually *going* somewhere…

  2. Bucky April 5, 2010 at 8:55 am #

    Sounds like a fun time!

  3. teri April 5, 2010 at 9:25 am #

    I have to agree, I think your mom should get the master or at least a room with a double bed. I can understand why she wants to give the room to your sister and brother-in-law but maybe they can switch off every other year. I also would definitely get the place with more bedrooms.

  4. rockman April 5, 2010 at 12:33 pm #

    If your willing to kick in $1000 towards the cost, then you cerntainly deserve the option of having a room to yourself.

  5. Jewcy Bits April 6, 2010 at 12:05 pm #

    You won’t share your booze so why the hell would your mom think you’d share a bed? Maybe it is because she is Mexican and she shared a freight car with 22 of her relatives when she snuck into the country?

  6. michelle cougan April 6, 2010 at 10:10 pm #

    a brat that is paying something toward the overall cost – I say you’re justified.

  7. sistah April 7, 2010 at 7:02 pm #

    just bite me! I have never asked for that frigging room! like you I am a brat, you do not need to beg me to take a good room. I do agree that she should get the best room.
    my one question is, when was the last time you had to share a room on vacation?

Leave a Reply

