The Story of Lucy

26 Mar

Those of you that follow this blog know that I’m a sucker for NPR and have a geek crush on This American Life’s Ira Glass.  It’s through This American Life (TAL) that I gut sucked into Radio Lab.

A few weeks ago, TAL did a story on a chimp called Lucy.  It’s a remarkable story about a chimp that was raised by humans.  At birth Lucy is “adopted” by a psychiatrist and a social worker who want to raise Lucy as close to a human as possible.  She learns to communicate, she eats with a utensils, she dresses herself, etc.  As she grows up, she becomes too much to handle and her “parents” decide to set her free and take her to Africa to transition.

When she gets there, she has a terribly difficult time, and one of her handlers, Janis tries to help her.  Janis ends up spending years trying to help Lucy acclimate to the wild.  In fact, Janis never returns to the United States.

The story is riveting and has a tragic ending. 

If you have an hour to spare, you can listen to the story here.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to go and reapply my make up because I have mascara all over my face from crying.

3 Responses to “The Story of Lucy”

  1. Skylers Dad March 26, 2010 at 2:19 pm #

    Saving thi for later, I know I will sob like a child.

  2. Allie March 26, 2010 at 7:16 pm #

    I don’t think I can listen; I cried reading Koko’s Kitten, for crying out loud.

  3. Erica March 28, 2010 at 2:03 pm #

    I listened to that on my commute one morning, and I totally walked into work red-eyed and crying. Such a tragic story.

Leave a Reply

