Sometimes Winning Isn’t so Good

9 Mar

The last few days have been pretty shitty.  My new dog, that I had for exactly 71 days, had to be put down last week.  It was very rough, and very unexpected.  He was a sweet boy but was very sick.  By the time I got him, he didn’t have a fighting chance.  As you can imagine, I’ve been spending a lot of time moping and crying off all my make up.  In the last day or so, I’ve started to get back towards my normal self.

Yesterday afternoon I walked out with Disney as I do on most days.   We decided to play this wonderful little game where we attempt to one up one another.

  • Catherinette: My dog is dead.
  • Disney: So is mine.
  • Catherinette: Well I have two dogs that are dead.
  • Disney: My mother is dead.
  • Catherinette: My dreams of a future with a husband and children are dead.
  • Disney: You win.
17 Responses to “Sometimes Winning Isn’t so Good”

  1. jon March 9, 2010 at 1:46 pm #

    Hair cut in a mullett……….Game Over!

    • Catherinette March 9, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

      He did used to have a mullet… -CS

  2. justine March 9, 2010 at 2:04 pm #

    So sorry to hear that, hon x

  3. Bored Housewife March 9, 2010 at 2:07 pm #

    I am so sorry! I’m sure his last 71 days with you were good, though!

  4. Red March 9, 2010 at 2:40 pm #

    I still think it will happen for you. You’re terrific!

  5. Jenna March 9, 2010 at 3:12 pm #

    I’m so sorry about the pup. It’s hard enough to lose one!

    And girl, don’t even joke about your future being hopeless, because if there’s no hope for you, I am royally screwed. We’ll be ok yet!

  6. Skylers Dad March 9, 2010 at 3:26 pm #

    Any guy would be lucky to have you, as was your dog to have been able to spend the last days with you.

  7. Wynn March 9, 2010 at 4:28 pm #

    I’m so sorry!

  8. Boom March 9, 2010 at 5:00 pm #

    Your life has sucked royally, I agree. However, I think you need to be in the right place at the right time to find your Prince Charming. I’m thinking a few hours north or you…

  9. Julie March 9, 2010 at 5:27 pm #

    so sorry about the pup 😦

  10. BeckEye March 9, 2010 at 8:08 pm #

    Aww, sorry to hear about your dog. I’ve been there and it sucks.

  11. Mel March 9, 2010 at 10:10 pm #

    Just started reading you – and I loved this post (being a big animal lover.) I’m glad he was able to spend his days with someone who obviously cared and loved for him.

  12. Allie March 9, 2010 at 11:17 pm #

    Like Mel, I just started reading and I’m sorry to hear about your dog. I’m a big animal lover too. I reflect the sentiments of your other commenters: I’m sure you made the last 71 days the best of his life.

  13. Catherinette March 9, 2010 at 11:25 pm #

    Thanks, everyone, for the well wishes. He really was a little doggy angel. I tiny 125 pound doggy angel. -CS

  14. WendyB March 10, 2010 at 1:11 am #

    So sorry about the dog! Poor puppeh.

  15. Bucky March 10, 2010 at 10:06 am #

    Sorry about your dog…that’s tough to take. On the other hand, I laughed out loud at your game. Good post.

  16. Dani March 14, 2010 at 8:22 pm #

    Obviously I am way late to this post, but I could hardly believe it when I wrote it. So sorry about your loss (for the second time in a year)! I know how hard it s when a puppy gets sick. We thought for sure we were going to lose Jersey. Luckily she is still around.

    I hope the next pup is a lifer!

Leave a Reply

