What a Waste of Money

22 Jan

$3653.  That’s how much money I spent on food in 2009.  That doesn’t include all of my groceries.  Factor that money in and you’re talking close to $5000.  I’m not fat enough to have consumed 4 mortgage payments worth of food.  RIDICULOUS!

In mid 2008 I signed up for an awesome website that tracks spending.  Figured it would be a good way to help me stop throwing my money away on stupid shit.  At the beginning of this year I decided to take a look at how I spent my money.  Yeah, not pleased at all.  When I saw that I had eaten food that equated to half a boob job, I decided to reign in my spending.  So far, so good.  Last year, on average, I spent about $100 a month on food for lunch at work.  This year?  I’ve spent $20.

So what do I go and do?  I make 3 reservations for Baltimore Restaurant Week.  I’m going out tonight, tomorrow night, and Tuesday night.  That’ll be almost $50 per night.  God damn it food, why do you tempt me like this?

But it’s not like I could say no.  Not when my dinner dates include Jewcy Bits, Boom Boom, and a bunch of other whores I hang around with.  I just can’t say no to them.  That would be rude, right??

Obviously I’ll have to turn some extra tricks to make up for these stupid meals.

9 Responses to “What a Waste of Money”

  1. Del-V January 22, 2010 at 2:53 pm #

    I was just thinking about Ixia. Damn I miss that place.

  2. Mike January 22, 2010 at 3:39 pm #

    I remember years ago when I was married and we went to a financial advisor and he said you’re blowing 10K a year on going out and other extras. The stuff adds up really fast.

  3. Jasmine @ Eat Move Write January 22, 2010 at 3:49 pm #

    lol… Maybe you just have expensive taste in food. I mean, if that’s all McDonald’s double cheeseburgers, you are ONE HUNGRY girl.

  4. Bored Housewife January 22, 2010 at 3:54 pm #

    You work hard, you have to enjoy yourself once in a while. Eat up!

  5. jon January 22, 2010 at 5:32 pm #

    Live – Eat – Love
    On the bright side, at least your love of food is not outweighed by your love of drunk driving.

  6. Jewcy Bits January 22, 2010 at 7:41 pm #

    Wow and here I thought I was special. I thought I was the only one and NOW I find out that your Baltimore Restaurant Weekin-it with a bunch of other people? THAT is so F’ed up.

    You whore.;)

  7. Delicieux January 24, 2010 at 5:18 pm #

    I stumbled upon your blog and have started reading recently… I checked out mint.com and it is absolutely what I’ve been looking for. Thanks for inadvertently finding the solution to one of my problems!!! 🙂

  8. Jeanne January 24, 2010 at 8:25 pm #

    Maybe you should separate what you spend on food from what you spend on entertainment — sounds like the next few evening’s meals are doing double duty!

  9. Mox January 30, 2010 at 12:21 pm #

    My sister in law and her husband (both lawyers) spend $2000 per MONTH on food. And? They’re fucking RAILS.

    Which means, my life sucks.

Leave a Reply

