Statute of Limitations

11 Jan

Did you know that in the state of Maryland there’s a 3 year statue of limitations on murder?  Medicare fraud and vehicular manslaughter are the same.  Seems that each state has its own laws on statutes of limitations.

But what about non criminal stuff?  Like secret keeping?  Once a friendship dissolves, are you still required to keep their secrets?  And if so, for how long?  

Life has a way of getting in the way of friendships sometimes, people grow apart, the things that we once had in common are no longer enough to keep friendships together.  That’s just the way it goes.  So why, after a friendship is dead and buried, do we feel the obligation to keep the other people’s secrets?  I’m not saying that it’s a good thing or a bad thing.  There are definitely things that people who I no longer speak with told me that I wouldn’t share. 

This occurred the to me the other day when I realized that I’ve kept secrets for years longer than a friendship ever lasted.  There are some people who I don’t speak with anymore and I’ve kept their secrets all this time.  I haven’t spoken to some of those people for 10-20 years.  So what’s the point of keeping them?

 

12 Responses to “Statute of Limitations”

  1. Jon January 11, 2010 at 4:15 pm #

    Hmmm… If only you had some sort of forum in which to expose these secrets. An online web journal perhaps…

    Why didn’t I think of that?? -CS

  2. pinkpiddypaws January 11, 2010 at 4:39 pm #

    Another question could be: What’s the point of telling the secrets?? 😛

    That, my dear, is a better question. There really is not point. -CS

  3. Skylers Dad January 11, 2010 at 4:48 pm #

    Depends on the secret. Go ahead and tell that somebody has a farting problem or drools in their sleep. If they told you they killed a hobo just to watch him die and he is buried under their front porch, I would keep that to yourself.

    Because they might kill me too? -CS

  4. Julie January 11, 2010 at 5:17 pm #

    hmm..def an interesting thought to ponder…not sure what i would do!

    Your’e not helping here, Julie!! -CS

  5. Bored Housewife January 11, 2010 at 5:50 pm #

    The rule according to bored housewife is that you can tell anyone’s secrets to anyone else, almost at any time, if you don’t reveal the identity, or anything about the identity of the perpetrator of the secret. Such as, I knew a person/had a friend/ worked with someone who slept around/stole from the poor/never shaved her pits. The good part of the secret is out, but the important part of the secret – the who, when where – remains a mystery.

    So it’s okay if I said that I once knew this girl who did this stupid thing and didn’t tell anyone and it was lame and she’s stupid? Oh, and I know this guy that did the same thing! -CS

  6. BeckEye January 11, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

    Cracking up at Jon. Yes…oh where oh where could you divulge those secrets??

    If only I could think of a place… -CS

  7. Jen January 11, 2010 at 7:11 pm #

    Karma.

    What about it? They’ll tell mine? I don’t care, it’s not like I’ll ever talk to them again. -CS

  8. Sooz January 11, 2010 at 10:05 pm #

    Im with Jon

    I’m shocked that you would want to read about other people’s indescretions. -CS

  9. Jewcy Bits January 11, 2010 at 11:03 pm #

    I have mixed feelings about this and think that in some cases it depends on the secret, the person and who you’re telling. So, if we’re gonna take this on a case-by-case basis, you should just start telling me everything you know and I will be the judge.

    After all, I judge pretty much everything else around me already. I’m just here to help. And to remind you what a whore you are.

    I’ll give you an example: Lite Brite. Can we spill the beans? I just don’t know…

    Thank you so much for that reminder, whore. -CS

  10. holycowirock January 11, 2010 at 11:51 pm #

    First, keeping secrets is a great talent, and the fact that you keep them even after a friendship dissolves says a lot about your character, and should make all your current friends feel secure in telling you their secrets.

    Second, you should totally write down everyons secrets in a journal leaving out the identity. Then when you die, make a note in your will that whoever correctly figures out which secret goes with which person gets your riches and/or collection of old stuffed animals/figurines/tacky purses, ya know, whatever.

    That would be a clever idea. Maybe they can get my coveted Precious Moments collection. I’m going to have to start collecting those little figurines. -CS

  11. Del-V January 12, 2010 at 9:24 am #

    There isn’t a statue of limitations on murder in Maryland… SO DO NOT CONFESS TO KILLING PISTOLS @ DAWN! Remember, if anyone asks, you have no idea about his strange disappearance from blogging three years ago. He just went out for a pack of smokes and never came home. Let’s keep our story straight.

    I don’t know what you’re talking about. He said he was going to get a six pack of beer and go spread his disease, that’s the last I saw of him. -CS

  12. Jewcy Bits January 13, 2010 at 11:11 pm #

    Oh Pistols…how I miss you. And by miss you, I mean that I miss you running to the bar to buy me a new drink. Good times bitches. Good times.

    Why can’t Pistols come back to us? WHY?? -CS

Leave a Reply

