Throwing It All Away

10 Dec

For the last 4 years I’ve signed up for a Flexible Spending Account (FSA) at work.  An FSA let’s you determine an amount of pre tax dollars that you will earmark for medical expenses.  The nice thing about it is that it lowers your taxable income for the year.  The crappy part is if you don’t use the money, you lose it.  For 3 years in a row I set the money aside and then never used it.

This year, however, I spent every last dime.  I just spent the last hour ordering 4 boxes of contact lenses AND perusing www.drugstore.com.

Can’t wait to get my Advil, Midol, band aids, blemish sticks, Pepto, etc. in the mail.  Man, I might even use that shit as stocking stuffers.  I’m sure my sister and brother-in-law could use an extra bottle of Advil after having to deal with Damien and Lucy(fer) all day.  I could even give them some Benadryl so they could drug the kids and get them to calm the hell down.

FSA, I love you.  You complete me.

6 Responses to “Throwing It All Away”

  1. Michelle December 10, 2009 at 3:38 pm #

    LOL

    A friend of mine has that option starting this year. We were just discussing the pros/cons of it last night. I’d totally do it!

    It’s totally worth it! I swear that I have enough Advil to get me through 2010 now. PLUS I don’t have to worry about getting contact lenses for awhile now. DO IT! -CS

  2. hookdntx December 10, 2009 at 4:10 pm #

    I’d say use the funds for birth control and condoms, but seeing as how your peen counter hasn’t been reset, I belive you made a wise decision.

    Buying such things would send out a message to the universe that I had some hopes of resetting the peen counter. That would only ensure that I never ever reset it. -CS

  3. Del-V December 10, 2009 at 4:45 pm #

    You can also use your FSA at the free health clinic for the special shampoo that gets rid of crabs… ummm…. not like I know about that or anything… In an unrelated story – if you tell the pharmacist at the free clinic for the Del-V special she’ll give you 20% off crab shampoo.

    Awesome, that’s just great. Listen, when we go to Rome together this summer, I’m not sharing a room with you. Crabs are so hard to get rid of.

    At least that’s what I’ve heard… -CS

  4. Amadeo December 10, 2009 at 5:10 pm #

    Drugs are the gift that keep giving.

    I thought that was Herpes. -CS

  5. kathcom December 10, 2009 at 6:49 pm #

    I love drugstore.com. It somehow feels likes real shopping to me, even though it’s all boring stuff.

    It’s still nice to end up getting packages in the mail, even if it’s just crap. I swear I’d probably order boxes of nothing just so I could feel excited about coming home to real mail. -CS

  6. Emily December 21, 2009 at 1:43 pm #

    LOL!
    My mom did this last year, and I ended up with Mucinex in my stocking. Gee, thanks, Mom.

Leave a Reply

