This Labor Day I’d Rather Be In Labor

3 Sep

I’ve never been one to hide my disdain for my father.  The dude’s hilarious (mainly because we have the same sense of humor), but he’s also a bad father.  He also has the world’s most annoying wife.  My step mother is one of those women who is so syrupy sweet that all you want to do is wrap your hands around her neck and squeeze until she turns blue and shuts up.  Or maybe kick her, or tape her mouth shut.  All are viable options.

Yet when my dad called a bit ago to say that he would be delighted to fly us all down to his beach house in Florida for Labor Day, we jumped at the chance to go.  Free trip!!

The last time we went to visit him down there, Damien was only a few months old.  My sister, brother-in-law and Damien all got to stay in a cute little hotel 2 doors down from the house while I got trapped in the house with my step-grandfather who is a racist bastard.  Add to that that the whole house smelled like feet and was dirty as sin.  BUT this time I get to stay in the hotel too, so we’re good to go.

At least we thought we were good to go until yesterday, when we noticed that the tickets he had booked were all jacked up.  Instead of buying tickets for Damien and Lucy(fer), the tickets were purchased for Darryl and Lillian.

Fine, whatever, my sister went ahead and changed the tickets.

Then my dad called me to remind me to rent a car because they weren’t going to pick us up at the airport.  Awesome.  Who the hell waits until the day before Labor Day to book a fucking car in Orlando?  Yeah, paying out the ass for that one.  AND, apparently, he neglected to mention that they were only reserving the rooms at the hotel, not actually paying for them.  Thanks for being clear with that when you invited us to visit.

Really, dad?  I mean, really…?

7 Responses to “This Labor Day I’d Rather Be In Labor”

  1. rockman September 3, 2009 at 2:32 pm #

    dont you just love it when they pull that shit. my dad and stepmom have done the same thing to me, forcing me to rent a condo at a resort location so we could all have a family easter together. what a crock of shit.

  2. Jormengrund September 3, 2009 at 3:29 pm #

    Hey, it could’ve been worse.

    I mean, he could have done like my uncle I hated did to my brother and I, and cancel the stinking tickets the day before our flight was to leave..

    Or then book our rooms, and give them to his daughters instead, and leave us to get our own place to stay.

    Then remind us that the tickets he was paying for were only one-way tickets, and we’d have to spring for the return flight home after he’d cancelled the round-trip ones.

    So, all in all, you aren’t _too_ badly off.. True??

  3. jon September 3, 2009 at 6:26 pm #

    More family drama than a BrideZilla TV marathon.

  4. Philly September 3, 2009 at 7:02 pm #

    That’ll learn ya

  5. David September 3, 2009 at 9:13 pm #

    Uhmmm…..I would be emailing that I had just come down with explosive diarrhea and projective vomiting – possibly from swine flu.

    So, sorry Dad, I can’t make that flight you paid for.

  6. auishtha September 4, 2009 at 5:37 am #

    And I thought my dad was a meanie. haha.

  7. brit September 4, 2009 at 2:17 pm #

    Wow. I just felt like I was reading one of my journal entries. Awesome dude, horrible father. Instead of one horrible wife, there are a string of horrible girlfriends. Family trips are NEVER as they seem. And the bf and I end up paying for that. We decided NEVER to rely on my father again, and instead just to “meet up” on vacations. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

