Just the Tip Tuesday (08/11/09)

11 Aug

In honor of the passing of the great John Hughes, I’m dedicating the rest of this month’s JTT to 80’s teen idols that appeared in his films.  It’s the right thing to do.  I know that John Hughes would be so touched by this incredible gesture of mine.  Touched or appalled – sometimes they are one in the same.

We all know (or at least we should know) John Hughes for just about every single movie that he directed.  Did you know, that he only actually directed 8 movies?  Yeah, it’s true, he did.  He wrote almost 40 of movies, and one of those was “Pretty in Pink”.

Fuck Andrew McCarthy and Jon Cryer – they were nothing to James Spader’s arrogant Steff who tried to get on Molly Ringwald.  Frankly, I don’t know why Molly Ringwald was all hung up on the nice rich guy when she could have had the debauched rich guy.  Especially when he looked like this:

James Spader

I’d like to make it clear that I’m referring to a YOUNG James Spader in this week’s JTT.  Sadly, time has gotten the better of him and he looks like I do when I’m close to getting my period and have taken in far too much salt.  Bloated James Spader is nowhere near as hot as young delicious James Spader.

Special shout out to Sarah Cunningham for suggesting this week’s feature.

16 Responses to “Just the Tip Tuesday (08/11/09)”

  1. bethie August 11, 2009 at 2:46 pm #

    Oh, young James Spader does make me swoon…so does James Spader in Secretary, for that matter.

  2. mommasunshine August 11, 2009 at 2:48 pm #

    He’s ROCKIN’ that feathered hair.

    **swoon**

    heh

  3. sharon August 11, 2009 at 4:00 pm #

    Oh young Mr. Spader was quite delicious. I especially love his look in Pretty In Pink.. not many men could rock the hair, the half-way unbuttoned shirt, the boat shoes with no socks and linen pants.. Excuse me while I begin my day dream…

  4. South Philly Fashionista August 11, 2009 at 4:10 pm #

    OMG!! NYC Prep Sebastian copied his hair!!! That is who he thinks he is!! OMG!!

  5. cinnamon & honey August 11, 2009 at 4:28 pm #

    Yeah, I am still gonna go with Blane for this one.
    Steff’s horrendous arrogance made him super-ugly to me. (Remember his line about Andie: “the girl is and always will be nada…” Ouch. I can’t think of a worse insult.)
    One of my fave movies, ever, btw!

  6. Sarah August 11, 2009 at 4:41 pm #

    I have to say, I’m flattered that my taste is worthy of JTT. And that is one fine picture.

    thanks for the shout out. 🙂 Now if you’ll excuse me while I go stare at this for a few minutes….

  7. Erica August 11, 2009 at 6:30 pm #

    I’m with you. Forget Duckie and Blaine, Steff is where it’s at.
    Of course, a Jake Ryan-Steff sandwich trumps all.

  8. Dani August 11, 2009 at 9:48 pm #

    Douches do hold a special place in my heart. I would like to nominate Judd Nelson. But only young Judd Nelson, not current Judd Nelson. And only from Breakfast Club. Yep. I like bad boys. Or delinquents. Whatever.

  9. maria August 12, 2009 at 1:50 am #

    oh yah he was cute but I hated “steffs” attitude. I too wanna nominate young Judd Nelson * hubba hubba back then* Loved John Hughs movies and I would love to nominate “Jake Ryan” ( young Jake Ryan) from 16 candles don’t know the actors name but that was the character and oh baby that was hot!

  10. Christine Staley August 12, 2009 at 2:14 am #

    OMG, did I have the hots for him…

  11. Wynn August 12, 2009 at 10:52 am #

    Oh, in Secretary he’s hott too. Not in a totally hottness-of-the-month way, but in that.. really weird kinda perverted kind of boss.

  12. foxy luv August 12, 2009 at 8:07 pm #

    Young James Spader can do a line of blow off this hooker’s back any day of the week and twice on Sunday (that’s right – the Lord’s day is for rest and what’s more restful then doing a line of blow off a hooker’s back?).

    Old James Spader can appear in Liberty Medical Supply ads, but will not be doing lines of blow – or Crestor – off this hooker’s back. In the words of Whitney Houston – “Hell to the no!”

  13. ladiesofmight August 13, 2009 at 12:56 am #

    Mmm I’m sorry but James Spader – young, old, skinny, bloated, Pretty in Pink, Secretary or Boston Legal – does it for me. Great great choice. I applaud JS in any era.

  14. Tuesday August 16, 2009 at 1:26 am #

    love this one – though sex, lies, and videotape James Spader is the one who really does it for me…

  15. coastlover August 17, 2009 at 9:52 pm #

    James Spader in 1986 or in 2009 does it for me. I love the guy no matter what, though I would like to see him a bit slimmer for health reasons. He could definitely eat crackers in my bed anytime.

  16. steph September 15, 2009 at 9:03 pm #

    oooh my God!! I so agree!! I used to think why doesn’t she like steff?? He was so sexy and so arrogant. and yes the young version!! haha

Leave a Reply

