The Big Step

15 Jul

I’m doing it, people.  I’m taking the plunge!!

No, I’m not getting married, and no I’m not referring to changing my mind about the butt love.  Rather, I’ve decided I’m going back to school.

The application process has begun.

This quite possibly is the stupidest thing I’ve ever done.  Right after sleeping with Notebook.  And Mr. Yellow Mustang.  And dating 3D.  And then sleeping with him after we broke up.  And also going out on a date with Fish Mouth.

God help me.

18 Responses to “The Big Step”

  1. BeckEye July 15, 2009 at 1:30 pm #

    I think about it all the time, and then I picture myself as the smartest person in the homeless shelter and just stay on my current path.

  2. Kimmers July 15, 2009 at 2:44 pm #

    I’m really, really jealous! I’d love to get my MFA or even a teaching certification, but I 100% can’t afford either option and probably won’t be able to for the next few years.

    I also CANNOT FREAKING STAND my current job. I hate it so much more than I can say and it’s slowly begun to dawn on me how many other aspects of my life that has had an adverse effect on. I’m probably going to end up drooling in a padded cell if I stay much longer. But how do you make a major career change without going back to school?? I want to get some sort of writing job but as I have no professional writing experience that seems like a non possibility.

    Sigh. Tell me more about your plans so I can live vicariously through you!

  3. Cosmo July 15, 2009 at 2:45 pm #

    Back to school, wow! I’m dying to know what your field of study will be and what degree you are going for. I went back for my masters and it wasn’t bad once I started.

    I’ve been thinking about getting my Phd…but it takes up SOOO much time away from my boozing.

  4. Melrox July 15, 2009 at 3:05 pm #

    I have no desire to go back and get my MBA. The way I look at it, I have a Bachelors, about 12 years of experience and a pretty damned good salary with student loans up to my ears already. What benefit will I receive from obtaining my MBA?

  5. Deanna @ Kitsch-Slapped July 15, 2009 at 3:19 pm #

    Oh, I’m thrilled for you! I’d remain in school for ever, if it was free…

    And it can’t possibly be the stupidest thing you’ve ever done; I have it on good authority that you call strangers from twitter DM’s lol

  6. maria July 15, 2009 at 4:39 pm #

    Cool to school. I go to University of Phoenix online. Its great you take 2 classes for 9 weeks and then move onto 2 more classes. Everything is over the internet and I get Federal Student Aid for school too =)

    their link is: http://phoenix.edu

  7. Mike July 15, 2009 at 5:25 pm #

    Wouldn’t it be the other person taking the plunge with the butt love?

  8. Philly July 15, 2009 at 6:33 pm #

    Oh this is good. Maybe catch yourself a young peen while you are studying.

    #1

  9. Dani July 15, 2009 at 8:23 pm #

    Yes, but at least you didnt go out with LOLCATS, right? Right?

    Okay, I think this is a good thing. Wait. What are you studying?

  10. Carrie July 15, 2009 at 10:23 pm #

    Bravo lady! I hope to one day marry for money…so I can just become a professional student. 🙂

  11. Boom July 15, 2009 at 10:36 pm #

    Congrats, and welcome to the annoying group project club!

  12. Chef Green July 15, 2009 at 11:56 pm #

    I was unaware that they offered advanced degrees in whoreskankery. Who knew?

  13. Del-V July 16, 2009 at 7:25 am #

    Cath – you are too cool for school.

  14. Amber July 16, 2009 at 12:02 pm #

    I think that is a fantastic idea!! I enrolled in school last year and it was the best thing I could have done for myself. I don’t even care about the benefits careerwise; I’m more focused on my own well being and how I will feel afterwards, accomplished. I’m so excited!

    Good luck!

  15. AC Siapno July 16, 2009 at 2:20 pm #

    I am with you. I wanted to go last year but might be moving overseas so I haven’t taken the pludge yet. Any thoughts as to what you’ll go for or where? The school that has my idea program is in Baltimore so I might be in your neck of the woods is I end up taking the pludge as well!

  16. Hookdntx July 16, 2009 at 4:12 pm #

    Woot Woot! I say go for it… I just completed my Master’s in May. It has worked for me so far.

  17. jon July 16, 2009 at 7:17 pm #

    Back to School Tip:
    If you’re going to permanently tattoo answers onto your forearm, make sure it’s for an exam in a subject you really love.

  18. Red July 18, 2009 at 2:44 pm #

    That’s awesome. And this coming from someone who got an M.F.A. and will be paying off student loan debt for about 16 years. But I have a hunch you’re in a better financial place than I was and will get a more practical degree. Go, CS, go!

Leave a Reply

