Fancy Meeting You Here

3 Jun

Those of you that have checked the peen counter in the last several months know that I’m experiencing a very LONG and tragic dry spell.  One that would reduce just about anyone to tears.  Frankly, it’s a sad sad state of affairs and Vageena Davis is so very lonely.  So very sad and so very, very lonely. 

This wretched dry spell reminds me of another one that I had ages and ages ago when I was just a young thing.  One that happened to be broken by a young man that I met on December 31st of 1996.  It’s incredible how a one night stand (or ONS as some of us call them) can change your life.  And how sometimes they come back to haunt you.

This just happened to be one of those cases…

On that fateful night, so many years ago, I went to celebrate New Year’s with a bunch of my girlfriends in DC.  I sparked up a conversation with this fine young hotty just before midnight.  As it turns out, we lived not too far from one another in Baltimore.  His mother had worked at my High School.  We knew some of the same people.  He was good friends with a girl in my sister’s class.  Small world.

When the countdown to midnight began, he made sure I had plenty of champagne, and he kissed me right after we all celebrated the beginning of a new year.  It had been over a year since I had been with anyone, and he was kind enough to help me ring in the New Year with a bang.  Actually, it was several bangs.

We said our goodbyes in the morning, and went off on our merry ways.

Several years passed and I moved back to Baltimore.  One night when I was out with some girlfriends, we ended up at the same bar as some of the girls with whom I had gone to High School with.  One was celebrating her engagement.  We said our hello’s and caught up.  And when I asked her to introduce me to her fiance, I choked on my drink when she pointed him out.

There, in the corner, was that same boy with whom I had knocked boots so many years ago.   Not in a million years would I ever have imagined that I ever would have seen him again.  Much less at his one engagement party.

So awkward. 

10 Responses to “Fancy Meeting You Here”

  1. Red June 3, 2009 at 12:12 pm #

    A friend from college got married in Ft. Lauderdale. I knew one of her old roommates was living in DC. I knew her slightly from college and thought, “Cool. Maybe we can hang out.” So there are four people from DC at this wedding – me, EG, old roommate and her date. So when I was introduced to him, I was amazed when he was this guy I had gone out with twice. No big deal, right? Things didn’t even get to second base! But I’d imagine maybe this girl is easier than I am; possibly they hit it on their first date. Anyway, she was somewhat cool to me and we never did get together. EG thought it was kinda funny.

    EG and I recently had brunch with my friend and her husband. They were in town for her old roommate’s wedding.

  2. Melrox June 3, 2009 at 12:43 pm #

    Oooo, I’ve got one. I went to a party with a friend. Her best friend was getting married that weekend and the bride invited me to the wedding.

    After the wedding they wanted me to ride in the limo with them. We’re riding down the road and all of the sudden the Groom *whom I’ve never seen before* (or so I thought) says “don’t I know you.” HOLY MOTHER.

    We were in the limo driving from HIS WEDDING to HIS RECEPTION.

  3. WendyB June 3, 2009 at 7:16 pm #

    Hmmm….I guess that was bound to happen to someone, somewhere. Thanks for taking the hit for the rest of us.

  4. jon June 4, 2009 at 3:58 pm #

    That’s an amazing story CS ….His mother worked at your High School.?

  5. Dani June 4, 2009 at 5:08 pm #

    Sometimes your life represents a sitcom. That is a good thing.

  6. Elisabeth June 4, 2009 at 6:07 pm #

    Only you Catherinette!

  7. MisstressM June 4, 2009 at 9:25 pm #

    Wait wait wait! Did he recognize you? Thats the important question. I would totally act dumb and pretend that I did not recognize him.

  8. Ask Alice June 4, 2009 at 11:28 pm #

    How awkward!! Yet riveting….sort of like a train wreck ;->

  9. Wynn June 5, 2009 at 3:25 am #

    Sounds like something that suits me perfectly. You and me Catherinette, you and me. The world is by far too small for us to thrive in without bumping into people from the past in places you wouldn’t like to see them.

  10. cocktailsattiffanys December 27, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

    Wow, that sounds like something out of a movie!!

    -L

Leave a Reply

