Mmm…Chicken Wings

2 Jun

Do you remember way back in the day when there was no such thing as caller id?  If you wanted to know who was calling you, you’d either have to pick up a phone or screen all your calls and let them going to voicemail.  Though there was also a time when there was no such thing as voicemail…I don’t like to think about those days.  There were some advantages to not having caller ID, like being able to call that person you had a crush on and immediately hanging up the phone the second they answered.  Not that I ever did that (more than once a day).

Since the invention of caller ID, I have taken full advantage.  If I don’t recognize the number, then I’m not picking up.  Not ever.  As a matter of fact, sometimes I don’t even pick up when I do recognize the number.  There, I said it.

This morning my cellphone began ringing and an unrecognized number popped up on my screen.  Following protocol, I let it go to voicemail.  I nearly peed in my pants when I heard the message the caller left:

Hello?  How are you?  [screams into phone] JUSTIN!!  Hold on a second.  [screams into phone] JUSTIN!!  Call me back so you can come get some of these chicken wings.

God I love it when people dial the wrong number.  You know this woman is going to get all pissed off at her friend later for never calling her back.  What will become of those delicious chicken wings?  Perhaps I should call her.

13 Responses to “Mmm…Chicken Wings”

  1. Catherinette June 2, 2009 at 9:28 am #

    Hurray! She just called back two more times.

  2. KV June 2, 2009 at 9:47 am #

    I had an old woman calling my old number and leaving messages even though my name was on the voicemail intro. The last one she left informed me that she wouldn’t be able to pick up Morgan from school because she had the runs. I shouldn’t have checked my voicemail before lunch.

    Do you think that Justin and Morgan were hanging out after school together that day? Maybe that lady got the runs from too many chicken wings. -CS

  3. Del-V June 2, 2009 at 11:06 am #

    My Blackberry would get automated messages from a DC public school about my child who did not report for homeroom that day. That kid never went to class.

    What a total slacker. You’re a terrible pretend father. -CS

  4. Vegetable Assassin June 2, 2009 at 11:20 am #

    I once had a Chinese lady call me and leave an agitated voice mail. In Chinese. I ignored it. Then she called every freaking day sounding progressively angrier each time, probably because her friend wasn’t returning her call. I had no idea what she said. You’d think my voice mail greeting, being in ENGLISH and all, would’ve clued her up but no.

    Maybe she was mad because she had made you some dumplings and you didn’t pick them up. -CS

  5. Lila Sweetheart June 2, 2009 at 12:13 pm #

    Maybe she works at Hooters?

    Then she can lend me her shirt so I can wear it to work. -CS

  6. teri June 2, 2009 at 2:41 pm #

    I like when they can’t even listen to your voicemail to realize that they dialed the wrong number.

    Do they know a Catherinette? Well then, don’t leave a message.

  7. Tanda32506 June 2, 2009 at 2:45 pm #

    If I call back and I’m NOT Justin, can I still get some chicken wings?

  8. jon June 2, 2009 at 4:20 pm #

    I’ve noticed that since the invention of “voicemail” there has been a discernible decline in need for knock-knock jokes.

  9. gullybogan June 3, 2009 at 5:45 am #

    I reckon “chicken wings” is some sort of euphemism…

  10. Philly June 3, 2009 at 9:40 am #

    I think Justin uploaded a video on Youtube.

  11. Harna June 4, 2009 at 1:55 am #

    I was at a football game in Boulder a few years ago when I received a message from what sounded like a very large and angry black woman that went something like this:

    “52? This Edna. I know Jerome is wit you and he didn’t come home last night. He got two kids and I ain’t dealin’ wit dat shit. You tell him to get his muthafuckin’ ass home ASAP.”

    I saved it on my phone for as long as it would let me and made everybody piss their pants laughing when listening to it. I bet Edna is STILL pissed at 52 for not calling her back.

  12. Jenna June 4, 2009 at 11:55 am #

    Once, guy calls me up asks for Emily, I tell him he’s got the wrong number and he proceeds to ask me a boatload of questions. Do you know where she is? What’s her new number? Starts getting all angry with me for not telling him where Emily is. I was all DUDE. Don’t. know. Emily. and I finally just hung up on him. Haven’t answered a call from a number I don’t know since.

    Never had any calls so awesome as this one, though. I would totally call her back. Bet she makes great chicken wings 🙂

  13. Dani June 4, 2009 at 5:11 pm #

    Hmm…that last comment reminded me of this time that I called the wrong number and then hung up when the person answered realizing it was the wrong number. Then a lady called back asking who I was. I expalained. She then told me that her husband didnt believe her and I needed to tell him. So I told him. Came home the next day to find a message from that guy on my machine sounding all crazy. Called that mf’er up and was like “call me again and I am going to the cops. What dont you get about me CALLING THE WRONG NUMBER? I am not having sex with your wife!” Never thought I would ever hear myself say those words.

Leave a Reply

