Time Flies When You’re Getting Old

21 May

It just occurred to me that 14 years ago today I graduated from college.

Man, it seems like a lifetime ago.

I clearly remember sitting out on that football field sweating to death and wishing to God that someone had told me to take water with me.  And that someone had mentioned that sitting in the blazing sun while wearing a black robe AND having a hangover sucked dog balls.

8 Responses to “Time Flies When You’re Getting Old”

  1. Del-V May 21, 2009 at 1:20 pm #

    You should have gone commando under the robe. I did. I was as cool as a cucumber dressed a hot black robe stuck inside the hottest basketball arena in the ACC with 25,000 of my closest friends and family.

    Good times.

  2. Philly May 21, 2009 at 2:22 pm #

    My daughter graduated college last saturday, very humid. I sat and looked at the group and wondered how many were hungover. Found out some stashed refreshments under their robs and were still drinking. Good Times.

    #1

  3. Red May 21, 2009 at 3:06 pm #

    I graduated from Florida State University in Tallahassee on 4/30/99. The graduation was indoors, which was good because it was about 50 degrees and windy outside. I remember my poor grandmother shivering when we did go outside more than I remember anything about Janet Reno’s commencement address.

  4. jon May 21, 2009 at 3:30 pm #

    During my graduation ceremony I remember proudly sitting in the hot sun thinking to myself how this day will pay big dividends for me in the future….little did I know that the big payoff would not come until ball-sweat retails for 600 bucks an ounce.

  5. the ambiguous blob May 21, 2009 at 5:16 pm #

    I’m still in college and I may or may not be the same age-ish as you.

  6. hautepocket May 23, 2009 at 2:19 pm #

    It flies by so fucking fast. And then you look back on the years that have passed…and maybe know HOW you got there, but have no freaking idea what to do next.

  7. Heather May 25, 2009 at 11:21 am #

    This has nothing to do with this post, I’m just cranky because Pistols at Dawn has decided to make his blog “readers only.” What up with that?!

  8. WendyB May 25, 2009 at 7:24 pm #

    Twenty years for me, you spring chicken!

Leave a Reply

