13 Apr

Un-boyfriend just called me to find out if his girlfriend had been rude to me on Thursday night. They had both been extraordinarily drunk that night we were all together, and he found out from a mutual friend of theirs that she had been worried that she had been rude to me.

He apologized to me, and for some reason, it makes me want to cry.

He says things are different now and she’s not as jealous as she used to be, but there’s something that still lingers there. I told him that I didn’t like that she was jealous, and I felt like things would be better once they were engaged. That when she had the ring on her finger, she wouldn’t see me as a threat anymore. He asked me if I was uncomfortable around her, and I told him I was. That I didn’t know how to help her see that there was nothing between us, and she had nothing to worry about. He hadn’t realized that it makes me feel uncomfortable knowing how she feels about me he. And he was sorry. “I’m sorry she makes you feel like that,” he said. “I don’t want her to make you uncomfortable, you’re my friend.”

In his mind, she should make an effort to be nicer to me. When I asked him why he felt that way, he said that it was because we were close friends.

It made me happy. It made me sad. And I’m struggling to keep it together at my desk right now.

Not sure why it evoked such a reaction from me.

Maybe it’s because I’ve felt that we’ve grown apart since they started going out.

Maybe it’s because I thought that our friendship was waning.

It seems like I was wrong, and I’m glad.

3 Responses to “”

  1. The Ambiguous Blob April 13, 2009 at 11:39 am #

    It’s hard for girlfriends to be comfortable with their boyfriends’ former flames. It’s nice that she’s concerned with making an effort.

    I do appreciate that he’s trying. I’m glad I don’t have to hate her for the rest of my life. -CS

  2. Chef Green April 13, 2009 at 11:54 am #

    Aw, our girl is having a feeling. If she doesn’t acquiesce to your wishes, I reccomend a formal (embossed, watermarked, RSVP’d) knee breaking. I’m apparently butch now, so I can say that this is the best solution possible.

    I’m totally going to blame all of this on PMS…even though I’m not anywhere close to my cycle. -CS

  3. Del-V April 13, 2009 at 12:48 pm #

    I had a surprisingly not-that-weird run in with one of my ex-girlfriends this weekend (the cool one, not the psycho). She was even with her new boyfriend. I think he was kind of unhappy about everything, but he still remained pretty cool.

    Then I ran into the doctor I was dating. She saw me and walked right out of the bar. That was maybe the most awkward part of the night. I’ll have to blog about it later.

    Um, that’s kind of strange that someone you were dating walked out when they saw you. Not a good sign. -CS

Leave a Reply

