Just the Tip Tuesday (03/31/09)

31 Mar

The other night when I was at my sister’s house, I somehow managed to talk my sister and brother-in-law into watching “Step Up 2: The Streets” and “Step Up” (in that order). That’s equivalent to wasting 4 hours of our lives that we’ll never get back. Not ever. We were highly amused by the concept of dance crews that would “attack” on the metros. Oh yeah, you read that right. This dance crew would basically get on a metro stop, everyone would sit apart, and then they would just start dancing around-it scared the other passengers, at it should. This crazy terrorist dance crew went by the name of The 410, named after our local area code. We decided that the only answer to having a dance crew called The was to form our own crew called the “443” (our other area code).

Oh how I heart cheesy dance movies. A week later we found ourselves mocking the “actors” in “Centre Stage”. It’s all about a group of kids that end up at the American Ballet Academy. Dear movie makers, let me give you a tip, if you’re going to cast a gay actor as a straight lead, go to town. Let’s just try to have him be a little straighter than the guy that stars in “Centre Stage”. Case in point, Rupert Everett. Hot as sin, and could easily been James Bond over stupid ass Daniel Craig.

Anyway, this isn’t about any of those guys. It’s about someone far hotter: Channing Tatum.

channing-tatum

As it turns out, a friend of mine from work grew up with him and remembers him when he was just a “punk kid”. Apparently he’s a really nice guy and doesn’t talk like a jack hole from the streets of Baltimore like he does in the “Step Up” movies. Here’s a little something you may or may not know about Channing, he’ll be in the new “GI Joe” movie AND he has his own action figure.

If only it was anatomically correct…

13 Responses to “Just the Tip Tuesday (03/31/09)”

  1. Jenna March 31, 2009 at 8:44 am #

    “I’m the best goddamn dancer in the American Ballet Academy, who the hell are you?!” I freaking love Center Stage. It’s so terrible yet awesome all at the same time.

    God that movie is cheesier than Kraft Mac n Cheese. -CS

    • David April 1, 2009 at 11:51 am #

      Uhmm….I’m pretty sure there isn’t any actual “cheese” in Kraft M&C. It is some powdered soy stuff with Yellow 5 I think. I’m just saying

      Cheers

      Shhh, don’t ruin this for me. -CS

  2. Jenna March 31, 2009 at 8:54 am #

    That all being said, how did I not know there was a sequel!?

    Center Stage: Turn It Up – All Kate Parker has ever wanted is to perform with the American Ballet Academy. But when she doesn’t get in, she turns to hip-hop dance — as well as a hockey player-turned-dancer — to help make her dreams come true.

    Oh. My. Land. That’s like Step Up, Center Stage and The Cutting Edge all in one. There cannot possibly be anything cheesier on this planet. I think you and me and a bucket of margaritas need to get together for a viewing party.

    We’ve got the sequel ready to go for our next movie night!! Can’t wait! -CS

  3. Elisabeth March 31, 2009 at 8:57 am #

    Seriously when I first saw this movie with my friend we laughed the whole way through, anticipating the next plot point. But Channing makes the movie worth it.

    That boy can step up to me anytime he’d like…

    They’re all terrible movies, but they’re entertaining and totally mindless-which I need from time to time. -CS

  4. Del-V March 31, 2009 at 9:34 am #

    Most of the gangs on the Baltimore Metro just stab people for crack money. I’ve never seen anyone (sober) dance on the Metro. As dumb as it sounds, I like my movies to be based somewhat in reality… even as depressing as our reality may be.

    And yet you like your TV shows to be more like Battlestar Galactica? Very interesting… -CS

  5. The Other Red March 31, 2009 at 10:00 am #

    He is gorgeous. Too bad he’s never been in once decent movie. Oooh! But he is in Public Enemies with Johnny Depp and Christian Bale. Christ, that movie is gonna be hot!

    Oh my god!! The three of them in the same movie???

    I have to go change my pants now. -CS

  6. Chef Green March 31, 2009 at 10:03 am #

    Hot hot hot! Sex me up now!

    He likes the vageen, not the peen. -CS

  7. O.G. March 31, 2009 at 10:37 am #

    Hey, found you through the ambiguous blob…very funny stuff. Looking forward to reading more.

    I heart AB!! -CS

  8. Amadeo March 31, 2009 at 11:18 am #

    I’m wondering if JTTT has degrees? Is there like a “Just for a second, just to see how it feels” vs. “because you have to start somewhere.”

    There are all kinds of degrees, far too many to describe. -CS

  9. Melrox March 31, 2009 at 11:45 am #

    I love me some Channing Tatum. YUMMY!

    He’s even better ala mode! -CS

  10. theblacktulip March 31, 2009 at 2:43 pm #

    oooo he’s gorgeous!

    He most certainly is! -CS

  11. douchegirl March 31, 2009 at 8:39 pm #

    He is gorgeous! And tall! But my gay co-workers tell me he’s gay. If he is, I’ll cry.

    I am both pleased AND delighted to tell you that they are WRONG!! I happen to know a girl that hooked up with him AND he has a serious girlfriend.

    I guess he could be closeted…but my girlfriend insists he is not. -CS

  12. pistols at dawn April 1, 2009 at 7:07 pm #

    Step up? Step Up 2? Wow. I wish you’d told me this before I roofied you, because now I’m feeling like I got the worse end of the deal.

    Because you would have liked to hear me talk about the movies instead of having to keep hearing my sobs? That way you wouldn’t have had to keep saying, “Stop crying, this is going to happen.”

Leave a Reply

