An Open Letter to the Work Day

24 Mar

Dear Work Day,

I think we need to talk.  You and I have been together for nearly 3 hours and already you’re smothering me.  I feel like you are demanding too much of me and that I’m being forced to do things that I don’t want to do.

Let’s take a break from one another.  It’s for the best.  What’s say you just go ahead and end so I can go home and eat my feelings?

Sincerely, Catherinette

8 Responses to “An Open Letter to the Work Day”

  1. teri March 24, 2009 at 9:43 am #

    I’m with you on this one. Too much smothering and not enough fun. I would like to take a part-time break from my work day.

  2. Amadeo March 24, 2009 at 9:55 am #

    Hmmm…Can I divorce the work day and get alimony?

  3. Beautiful Intellectual March 24, 2009 at 10:07 am #

    “I don’t mind going to work…its the eight hour wait to come home that’s a total bitch”
    x

  4. WTG March 24, 2009 at 11:47 am #

    Dear Bridget:

    These mild inconveniences tend to occur in the type of relationship we have but in the long run it’s for the best. We need each other and I know that you especially do not like my company on Monday’s but seem to love me more on Friday afternoons. I’ve learned to adjust & deal with that. In the meantime, I hope you recover quickly and see that I’m not purposely trying to encumber your day but as you know, relationships require work.

    Be well and best regards,
    The Work Day

    That’s it!! It’s over!! Who the fuck is Bridget?? I can’t believe that after all this time together you’re calling me by another’ woman’s name. Fuck you, Work Day! Fuck your right in your stupid, repressive asshole. -CS

    • WTG March 24, 2009 at 7:51 pm #

      Sorry hon, all the names tend to be a blur with so many within my workday domain – especially after a few stiff cocktails of course …. CHEERS C !!

  5. jon March 24, 2009 at 12:30 pm #

    And they say that a company’s most valuable asset is it’s staff……go figure?

  6. Suze March 24, 2009 at 6:41 pm #

    Today was one of those days that I looked at the clock 27 times and it only showed that five minutes had passed. I’m going to take to drinking before I come into work. See if that helps make the day go by faster.

  7. Shawn March 25, 2009 at 1:57 pm #

    Open letter posts! I think not. My attorney will be contacting you. And when I say “my attorney”, I mean me, under an assumed name. Probably with an .Esq at the end of it, because that sounds professional.

Leave a Reply

