An Important Question for All Humanity

12 Mar

What the hell does “word to your mother mean”?

I know it was all rad to use it back when I was 12 years old and it was 1986.  But really, Vanilla Ice, what does that even mean??

13 Responses to “An Important Question for All Humanity”

  1. kimizzy March 12, 2009 at 9:02 am #

    Well I think I’m qualified to answer this since I have “sistas” and “brothas” in my family tree. When this phrase is spoken the person means one of a few things, depending on the timing:

    1986: “Whatever was just previously stated is absolutely accurate. So accurate, in fact, that you could tell your mother. Because we don’t lie to our mothers. Ever.”

    1996: “I am late making the turn on The Jive Curve, but I have arrived and that’s what matters. I hope this statement fit in somehow with the conversation. I’ll just fist bump now.”

    2009: “I’m a douchebag, trying to make up for my lack of awesomeness as a teenager. I’m still repairing my damaged inner child. I have no idea what this statement means, except it was spoken when I wasn’t awesome by people who were awesome, so maybe that makes me awesome now. You know, how a positive plus a negative makes a positive. Or something.”

  2. evenrant March 12, 2009 at 9:58 am #

    Your getting older by the minute

  3. Del-V March 12, 2009 at 10:30 am #

    I haven’t heard anyone say “word to your mother” since the last time I was driving in my five-point-O (with the rag-top down so my hair could blow). Shortly after that I traded that car in for something a little more practical and enrolled in barber school.

  4. Jormengrund March 12, 2009 at 10:37 am #

    @ Del-V

    Enrolled in barber school?

    Just how light in the shorts are you?

    Myself, I dropped Vanilla Ice for Bloodhound Gang, but that’s because I’m one SICK sonofabitch.

  5. BeckEye March 12, 2009 at 10:50 am #

    Does just “word” without the “to your mother” part make more or less sense?

  6. Amadeo March 12, 2009 at 11:00 am #

    I still can’t get around Vanilla Ice’s debut.

  7. jon March 12, 2009 at 11:03 am #

    I agree with kimizzy’s answer…..mostly because he or she is a good typer.

  8. pistols at dawn March 12, 2009 at 11:11 am #

    I think the primary problem here is that you’re not sufficiently close to the extreme to be able to hang with the lingo.

  9. Cinnkitty March 12, 2009 at 11:52 am #

    I’m just concerned that you are seeking words of wisdom from Vanilla Ice. Really? Seriously? Did you SEE his hair styles???

  10. Chef Green March 12, 2009 at 2:26 pm #

    IT MEANS….

    That you should avoid the speaker of those words at all costs. Instead of indulging in “word to your mother” conversations, you should go to my blog and tell me how terrible my latest paintings are.

    Or just leave some general bitchiness there for the populace; that would make me smile. And my paintings ain’t smilin’ this week. Word to your momma, yo….Oh my god! …I mean….”And that’s the truth.”

    :>

  11. theblacktulip March 12, 2009 at 6:20 pm #

    it means that the person you are talking to is probably a douchenozzle.

  12. LarryLily March 13, 2009 at 6:53 am #

    fooshizzle!

  13. Jewcy Bits March 13, 2009 at 9:10 am #

    I’d be more than happy to explain if you’d let me have a word with your mother.

    Peace out. Blog’s open.

    The the fuck on!! I’m psyched!! -CS

Leave a Reply

