Sweet Sacrifice

25 Feb

Today’s the big day: Ash Wednesday!

So, what are you giving up for Lent?

26 Responses to “Sweet Sacrifice”

  1. Jane Moneypenyy February 25, 2009 at 11:11 am #

    Ice cream and fries…I’ll prob last about a week on the latter. I have no self-control!

    At least you’re trying, right?? -CS

  2. Jenna February 25, 2009 at 11:13 am #

    I’m giving up giving up things for Lent. Yes, one of the many great things about being a gluttonous heathen is that I don’t have to give anything up at all. Hurrah!

    One of the things I like most about you is that you’re a gluttonous heathen. -CS

  3. Del-V February 25, 2009 at 11:25 am #

    Sweets and candy.

    Those 2 strippers from the block? Have you told them yet? -CS

  4. jon February 25, 2009 at 11:50 am #

    Ash Wednesday Has Nothing On Me…..I’m giving up Nada.

    Ahahaha! That totally cracked me up. 🙂 -CS

  5. Teri February 25, 2009 at 12:09 pm #

    I don’t do Lent. It seems that Catholics focus on this period of time more than the Protestants. Am I wrong?

    The more important question is what is Catherinette giving up for Lent. *wink, wink*

    I’m giving up the same thing I always give up: nothing. I gave up peen almost 6 months ago. -CS

  6. theblacktulip February 25, 2009 at 12:25 pm #

    I don’t even know what Lent is about…but if I were to give anything up…I would probably go with my frighteningly frequent trips to McDonalds. I would say Starbucks but that’s like saying I’m giving up going to church for Lent and that would be silly

    When you say “frightenly frequent” how many are we talking about? -CS

  7. LarryLily February 25, 2009 at 12:30 pm #

    I am giving up sarcasm

    And honesty

    That should cover it.

    You’re a giver. Of the clap. -CS

  8. Jormengrund February 25, 2009 at 12:33 pm #

    I haven’t given any thought to it.

    However, if I mail you some beads, will you show me your boobs?

    I’ll totally show the envelope the beads come in my boobs. -CS

  9. allegedringleader February 25, 2009 at 1:23 pm #

    I feel like I have given up sex (albeit unwillingly) for long enough. So now that Lent is here, I’m going to get some peen…hopefully!

    So you’re giving up your chastity? -CS

  10. Gotham Girl February 25, 2009 at 1:39 pm #

    Wine. Red wine to be exact… OMG, it’s going to be a LONG 40 days….

    Wow! Now that’s a lot to give up right there. -CS

  11. hookdntx February 25, 2009 at 2:07 pm #

    Soda.. both real (with the yummy corn syrup) and diet (aka pretend soda)…. I am going to miss that carbonated goodness…

    Mmm…soda. It’s so good with all of those delicious bubbles. But, there is another bubbly drink that you haven’t said no to, champagne. -CS

  12. caribbeanlurker February 25, 2009 at 3:07 pm #

    I might be giving up junk food, but it’s more likely because my best friend wedding is a month away and I’m the made of honor.
    Sex is out of the question.
    So maybe I’ll give up diet coke, but I already had one this morning ooops.
    I’m such a good catholic!

    Hmm…I got nothing for you. Nothing. -CS

  13. Elisabeth February 25, 2009 at 3:07 pm #

    I would give up chocolate but I don’t like it. I would give up sex but I’m not getting any. I would give up ice cream but I’m not getting sex. Crap… so glad I’m not catholic.

    It’s not that you’re a bad Catholic, it just means that you’re already sacrificing in other ways. -CS

  14. Red February 25, 2009 at 4:00 pm #

    If I tell you what I’m giving up, I don’t get credit for it “upstairs.” In all seriousness, though, I think it’s more valuable to DO something for Lent. Volunteer, give to charity, add something to your prayers. (Or, get back to praying.) But whatever one is doing, it at the very least lessens your cred with the Big Guy if you say, “This is what I’m doing/giving up for Lent. Aren’t I a good person?”

    • Catherinette February 26, 2009 at 9:33 am #

      You bring up a valid point. I guess if you’re trying to do what’s right, you don’t need to focus on that only 40 days a year. -CS

  15. Moiii February 25, 2009 at 4:01 pm #

    Lent is akin to New Years Resolutions for me, you have the best intentions, but you know you’re gonna end up caving, so why bother. Good thing I’m not Catholic and don’t have to worry about it anyway. 😉

    • Catherinette February 26, 2009 at 9:34 am #

      You and me both. -CS

  16. Loose Cannon February 25, 2009 at 5:06 pm #

    Wooden shoes.

    • Catherinette February 26, 2009 at 9:34 am #

      How will you ever survive. -CS

  17. pistols at dawn February 25, 2009 at 10:55 pm #

    I’m giving up believing in Jesus for Lent.

    • Catherinette February 26, 2009 at 9:35 am #

      That works out because he gave up on you long ago. -CS

  18. Amber D. February 26, 2009 at 8:48 am #

    I’m really not what you’d call a “practicing Catholic”, but last year was the first year I didn’t give anything up, and I felt incredibly guilty the whole 40 days. Must be all those years of mass, CCD, and CYO.

    I’m giving up cokes (yeah, that’s what we call it in the South…not pop, soda, soda pop…Like, I’ll say, “Will you get me a coke?” and the person will respond, “What kind?”, and I’ll respond, “Dr. Pepper.” Anyway, yeah I’m giving up cokes and hopefully I’ll lose 10 lbs before Memorial Day. 🙂

    Every Lent my dad always says he’s giving up sex with black women. He’s been faithfully married to my white mom for 31 years. Funny.

    • Catherinette February 26, 2009 at 9:36 am #

      I like that you refer to all sodas as cokes. I might start doing that…

      Your dad is a genius. I think I’ll totally give up sex with black women as well. 🙂 -CS

  19. LilSass February 26, 2009 at 11:10 am #

    Catholicism. I’ll let you know how it goes.

  20. Augusto February 26, 2009 at 5:18 pm #

    I’m giving up poverty.

    I did so enjoy being poor and homeless – the sacrifice is enormous.

  21. Dani March 1, 2009 at 6:29 pm #

    all sweets and candy.

    Can you hear me crying from over there?

Leave a Reply

