Who is the Target Audience?

24 Feb

You know how in gmail they have those ads up in the top of your box?  (hee hee, I said “box”)

This afternoon as I was avoiding doing work and playing around with email, I saw the strangest ad.  Typically, I don’t even notice that the ads are even there.  Over the years, I’ve just learned to ignore them.

But when I saw the world “vaginosis” they had my attention.

It’s not every day that you’re asked if you’re “itching” and have a “fishy smell”.  Here’s my question: who the hell came up with that tagline and who the hell is clicking on that ad??  Okay, so that was 2 questions…

Hey, Foxy, I think that gmail must have meant this for you…

for-foxy

(click on the link to enlarge)

7 Responses to “Who is the Target Audience?”

  1. Jormengrund February 24, 2009 at 3:15 pm #

    Could be worse…

    They could try to get you interested in a venerial warts test…..

    That’s the one where they give you warts, and then see what the heck you’d do about them!

    That could be pretty flipping funny! -CS

  2. Cathy Greaves February 24, 2009 at 5:48 pm #

    I was playing Scrabble online today with a hot boy I have a secret crush on, and he played cox, and I added box to that. I made myself completely hysterical!

    That’s f’ing hilarious! -CS

  3. theblacktulip February 24, 2009 at 8:14 pm #

    at least yours are interesting. mine always ask me about trout fishing in Montana or hotyoungjewishsingles.net which is mildly confusing since I wouldn’t know how to get to Montana even if I wanted to and I’m not Jewish. but I’m sure that google had good intentions…

    Mine are hilarious. At least that one was. -CS

  4. Elisabeth February 24, 2009 at 9:44 pm #

    Oh gmail once suggested I take the “is your man a sociopath quiz” from the e-mail I was writing about my ex. The answer Sociopath – without question! From that moment on the stupid ads ceased to bother me. Even gmail knows my ex is an ass!

    Wow. Maybe gmail should become a therapist. -CS

  5. Suze February 24, 2009 at 9:53 pm #

    I always get the ones about herbal enhancements. WTF?

    At least you’re not getting them on Oprah’s stupid acacia berry diet. -CS

  6. Babs February 24, 2009 at 10:41 pm #

    they’re ads to make you feel better about yourself, I think. at least, they always make me.

    They do have that going for them… -CS

  7. thatgirl February 25, 2009 at 10:05 am #

    yeah i wanna know whose job it was to create the meta html data for that link and how they got through their day without peeing themselves with laughter!!

    I’m wondering if that’s the day when they love or hate their jobs. -CS

Leave a Reply

