Just the Tip Tuesday (02/03/09)

3 Feb

You know what I love most about February?  No, it isn’t waiting to find out what happens when Punxsutawney Phil pokes his head out of that hole (twss).  Or gorging myself on Whitmans Samplers I have to buy for myself because I always seem to be single on Valentine’s Day.  Nay, it’s neither of those things.  What brings me great joy is knowing that at the end of the month little statuettes will be given away along with the title “Academy Award Winner”.  That’s right people, the Oscars.  Mama love it long time.  In honor of the Academy Awards (which will be held on February 22nd), this months JTTs AND NFWs will all feature previous winners and/or nominees.  Hurray, a theme!!

JTT has featured several past nominees/winners, such as, George Clooney, Eric Bana, and Mark Wahlberg.

I’ve chosen someone very special for this theme’s first pick.  Someone who I was sure I had chosen at some point or other and that took me looking through every single one of the past JTT’s.  How is it possible that I missed this one??

Ladies (and boys who like boys), I present you with one of this year’s nominees for best supporting actor, and a previous nominee for best actor:

Mr. Robert Downey Jr.

robert-downey-jr

I have always had a super crush on Robert Downey Jr.  I grew up watching all the Brat Pack movies and lucky for me (andeveryone of my girlfriends) he was featured prominently in many of those movies.  I’m sure you all remember how charming a dick he was in Weird Science.  Who would have thought, back then, that he would wind up to be a two time Academy Award nominee (anda drugged out loon that ends up engaged in lord only knows what kind of shenanigans on someone’s front lawn).

 

Oh, and hey, now that you’ve taken a few minutes to enjoy today’s pick, feel free to check out what’s happening over at The Catherinette Chronicles.

10 Responses to “Just the Tip Tuesday (02/03/09)”

  1. Philly February 3, 2009 at 2:35 pm #

    Oh good lord I just love him. I especially like him in the movie Heart and Souls,,,,,love that !! Thank you so much dear Catherinette.

    #1

    That movie was pretty good. I liked it when he was a kid and would stare at the wall. -CS

  2. Jess February 3, 2009 at 3:19 pm #

    So I was never really a fan of his except for “Only You” (I know, cheesy, but I love it anyway). Then I saw “Iron Man.” Holy hottie! You continue to inspire me with your picks…and help me get through Tuesdays 🙂

    I’m totally here for you. -CS

  3. jon February 3, 2009 at 3:51 pm #

    Bang Bang (Kiss Kiss) was the last RDjr. movie I remember seeing. I can only hope that Downey’s recovery from the ravage of past excess and abuse is permanent rather than merely a brief pause before his next plunge into an orgy of headline-grabbing decadence and self-destruction…..after he reads about CS’s head spinning crush in JTT.

    Was that anything like Kiss Kiss (Bang Bang), because that was pretty good.

    I’m waiting for his phone call right now… -CS

  4. Jenna February 3, 2009 at 3:58 pm #

    How can you not swoon over RDJ? He’s the boy our parents warned us about.

    And that is why we swoon. 😉 -CS

  5. The Other Red February 3, 2009 at 6:28 pm #

    Oh, I love RDJ! Especially because he has a lovely singing voice. I’m trying to remember the first time I really fell for his dreaminess. I think, for me, it was The Pick-Up Artist. Me gusta mucho.

    I’ve heard that he’s quite a crooner, but have never heard him sing. -CS

  6. Cathy Greaves February 3, 2009 at 8:32 pm #

    I love Less Than Zero, what a great movie. He just gets hotter the older he gets.

    He totally does. I liked him when I was young, but I like him even more now. -CS

  7. Red February 4, 2009 at 9:41 am #

    I didn’t really dig _Less Than Zero_ when it was on the Student Government Movie Channel in college. My first RDJ flick was _Chances Are_. Yes, I dig him. He was so great on _Ally McBeal_, too.

    Ally McBeal sucked after they killed off the love of her life in the court room. I stopped watching it. -CS

  8. SouthernBelle February 4, 2009 at 11:25 am #

    How did you not cover this already???

    He is the best. I totally adore him.

    I have no idea?? I thought I had but there’s no post to prove it. Perhaps I just dreamt it… -CS

  9. Elisabeth February 4, 2009 at 5:05 pm #

    Wait… I’m pretty sure you have used him before… ON A FRIDAY where he belongs!!

    I’m sensing you have no love for RDJ. -CS

  10. Steph February 8, 2009 at 12:11 am #

    Can James Marsden be the next JTT? He’s hot, real hot.Things I would do to himm.. Damn, I suggest you look into him 🙂

Leave a Reply

