Fill In The Blank

2 Feb

I’m too cold to write a long post so let’s do something different.

Fill in the blank (post your response in the Comments section):

When I hear __________ on the radio, I will trample everyone in may path to change the station before my ears start to bleed.

For me, that would have to be Rage against the Machine.  Zach De La Rocha’s wailing sounds like nails on a chalkboard.  Everything they “sing” sounds the same, it’s just him screaming about something that doesn’t interest me at all.

Neil Young is a close second.

32 Responses to “Fill In The Blank”

  1. ilana February 2, 2009 at 11:17 am #

    “You’re Beautiful” by James Blunt.

    Gaaaah! His all over the place warbling makes me want to cry. And not in a eyes-misting-over-from-emotion kind of way. In an absolute horror and despair kind of way.

    He is a pretty whiny bastard. No idea what on earth women see in him. -CS

  2. Jaclyn February 2, 2009 at 11:21 am #

    “No One” by Alicia Keys. God, I hate it.

    I’m going to go ahead and put it out there that I dislike most of what she sings. -CS

  3. Liz3.57 February 2, 2009 at 11:51 am #

    Mary J Blige.

    No effing way.

    How about that iphone commercial? Make you want to hurt somebody? -CS

  4. SouthernBelle February 2, 2009 at 11:53 am #

    Generic white dudes whining over moody guitar rock, or overproduced pop music.

    Strangely, I love the morally bereft modern hip-hop, which is just as overproduced as pop.

    I can’t stand it when the do remakes of old songs, or when they “borrow” the music. Like P. Diddy? He makes me crazy, and not in a good way. -CS

  5. Max Candor February 2, 2009 at 12:00 pm #

    Nickleback. The worst band ever. Oh my god they suck. Someone need to beat their lead singer, whatiznuts.

    Guess I should return that CD I bought for your birthday. Damn it. -CS

  6. jon February 2, 2009 at 12:08 pm #

    For me, its any song by Vladimir Putin. That guy can’t carry a tune to save Russia.

    Umm…I don’t even know where to go with this one. -CS

  7. Del-V February 2, 2009 at 12:14 pm #

    Tom Petty and the Eagles make me sick. I know these two bands sold a lot of records, but I can’t figure out why.

    Tom Petty isn’t so bad, but I do hate the Eagles. -CS

  8. Melrox February 2, 2009 at 12:22 pm #

    Anything Rascal Flatts. I loathe them. I know, I know, I’m in the minority but I can’t stand his nasally voice. Makes me want to stab myself in the eye.

    They suck ass. -CS

  9. jendy February 2, 2009 at 12:37 pm #

    Liz, I’m with you. Mary J. Blige is my top reason to change the radio… or tv. I don’t get it.

    I love haters! -CS

  10. LilSass February 2, 2009 at 12:55 pm #

    I only get ONE choice? *sigh*

    Kelly Clarkson

    I want to stab that bitch

    Really?? You think she’s worse than Justin Guarini? Not that they ever play any of his songs on the radio. -CS

  11. Nellie February 2, 2009 at 1:26 pm #

    Only one … “Say what you need to say” … John Mayer, because the fucker just cant seem to say what HE needs to say, only 37 times

    And disagree if you must … anything Neil Young & The Beatles

    I. Hate. Neil. Young. He makes me angry. -CS

  12. Red February 2, 2009 at 1:27 pm #

    As a country fan (who also listens to and loves), I hate post 9/11 songs written by people who either seem opportunistic or totally don’t get it. In the former category is Alan Jackson’s “Where Were You When the World Stopped Turning?” and in the latter, Darrel Worley’s “Have You Forgotten?”

    I used to live in New York, I love New York, I was _there_ when the world stopped turning, and those songs offend me.

    This is a good reason not to like some stuff. Those guys are only doing it for the money. They suck. -CS

  13. Red February 2, 2009 at 1:27 pm #

    “listens to and loves ROCK”, that was supposed to be.

  14. Greg February 2, 2009 at 1:41 pm #

    Coldplay

    Overrated. -Cs

  15. Lizzers February 2, 2009 at 1:55 pm #

    I have to second that James Blunt comment. Oh, and anything Eric Clapton.

    He needs to retire. Actually, both of them need to go ahead and call it quits. -CS

  16. Spoony February 2, 2009 at 2:01 pm #

    The one the only … My Heart Will Go On by Celine Dion. It doesn’t just make my ears bleed, it makes me wish birds would come and peck my eyes out so I don’t have to see her sing that song!

    But it’s Celine! How can you not LURVE her? Maybe because she is annoying and self important? -CS

  17. Moiii February 2, 2009 at 2:07 pm #

    My choice of the moment is that stupid ass song “Poker Face” by Lady GaGa…I want to poke her in the face really, really hard!! WTF kind of concept for a song is that? Crap!!!!

    Can’t say that I know that song. -CS

  18. Red February 2, 2009 at 3:03 pm #

    Btw, a great book on this exact topic is _Dave Barry’s Book of Bad Songs_.

    Dave Barry is hilarious! -CS

  19. Amadeo February 2, 2009 at 3:32 pm #

    Gwen Stefani…and I loved No Doubt…her as a solo artist…not so much.

    That’s funny because I hated her in No Doubt and like her now. -CS

  20. Andrew February 2, 2009 at 4:17 pm #

    Celine Dion, Michael Bolton, Kenny G. Come the glorious revolution they will be first against the wall to face the firing squad for crimes against humanity.

    I love it when you say that. 🙂 -CS

  21. Jenna February 2, 2009 at 4:48 pm #

    See, I can’t listen to the radio for this exact reason. The things I run screaming from far outnumber the things I’d actually listen to.

    You’re missing out on some quality mocking opportunities. -CS

  22. Erica February 2, 2009 at 7:15 pm #

    Rod Stewart. I have been known to walk out of any store/restaurant/whatever if one of his songs comes on. His “music” is terrible, and he looks like a pedophile in wait.
    My mom’s friend won tickets to his concert several years ago, and I still haven’t forgiven my mom for going with her.

    Christ, he f’ing blows. My mom loves him and I can’t figure out why. -CS

  23. Moiii February 3, 2009 at 8:37 am #

    I’m sure you’ll be dragged into the vapid nothingness that is Lady GaGa – Really just shows that you don’t need one iota of talent to make it in the music biz!!

    Seems to have worked for Jessica Simpson. -CS

  24. Amber D. February 3, 2009 at 1:32 pm #

    I will wholeheartedly agree with Max and say Nickleback. I even know the lead singer’s name (Chad Kroeger) because I curse him every time I see that stupid Mastercard commercial he’s in.

    I’ll also go ahead and throw in Rob Thomas, with or without Matchbox 20. He makes me want to gouge my eyes out with a spoon.

    Chad Kroeger is a total tool and Rob Thomas needs a new hairdo. -CS

  25. Lindsay February 3, 2009 at 1:42 pm #

    Beyonce “Single ladies” If I hear that one more time….

    That song makes me want to hurt someone. -CS

  26. kat February 3, 2009 at 3:57 pm #

    Damn, maybe I suck. I think “Poker Face” and “Single Ladies” rule.

    If you like it then you should have put a ring on it.

    Ugh. I f’ing HATE “Single Ladies.” The only ring I’d like to put on her is one that would fit around her neck and is attached to a cement block-that would immediately be thrown into the depths of the Atlantic Ocean. -CS

  27. Lindsay February 3, 2009 at 5:27 pm #

    I find it amusing that she was with Jayz for 5 or 6 years before they got married. So Beyonce, how long exactly does one have to “put a ring on it”?

    That is an excellent point. Guess he totally didn’t want it then, did he? -CS

  28. mellafabulous February 3, 2009 at 8:51 pm #

    Mine’s ‘Lips of an Angel’ by Hinder.

    WORST SONG EVER.

    And for ‘You’re Beautiful’ I change the lyrics to ‘You’re Pitiful’. 😀 Makes it much better.

    Really? You don’t like Hinder? I loved that song when it first came out. Do you hate me for admitting that? -CS

    • Mellafabulous March 11, 2009 at 9:48 am #

      I do hate you now. Sheesh. Wtf.

      I hate that song because of the lyrics, it hits too fucking close to home for me. Boooooooo.

    • Catherinette March 11, 2009 at 9:58 am #

      Don’t be a hater. It’s not right. Otherwise, I’ll have to find out what other songs you hate and write all about them.

    • Mellafabulous March 11, 2009 at 10:01 am #

      So damn mean. SO.DAMN.MEAN.

  29. Tuesday February 7, 2009 at 1:05 am #

    Thank you, thank you — Neil Young sounds like cats having sex. I hate Led Zeppelin and Van Halen too – though possibly I’ll be pummeled to death for admitting it in public.

    Those bands are pretty overrated too. -CS

Leave a Reply

