An Important Question for All Humanity

5 Nov

How terrible is it to lock yourself in an office at work and take a little nap? 

Because I totally just woke up from mine…

I’m not talking about a 3 hour nap, more like a 30-45 minute siesta.  Feet up on the desk, leaning back in the chair, mouth open and drooling.  How wrong is that?  I’m kind of afraid to leave this office now for fear that my hair is all messed up and people will know about the sin I have committed.  Crap, now I’m going to be trapped in here all day. 

Foxy, I’m going to need to you bring me a hairbrush.  STAT!

 Sleeping at Work

14 Responses to “An Important Question for All Humanity”

  1. Amadeo November 5, 2008 at 10:30 am #

    That actually raises your stock in my eyes.

    I wish you were writing my year end review. -CS

  2. Hookdntx November 5, 2008 at 11:12 am #

    I think a 30 min nap in the middle of the day actually improves your effectiveness in the afternoon hours. Your productivity goes up so really, your company Investments-R-Us should thank you for being so responsible.

    I could use another nap right about now. I feel like ass cheeks again. -CS

  3. Philly November 5, 2008 at 11:24 am #

    I’m ready for a nap right now !!

    Go over and look at this video,,,,,,for some odd reason I thought of you.

    #1

    http://mntxconnection.blogspot.com/

    Stupid Investments r Us has blocked it! I’ll have to check it out when I get home. -CS

  4. jendy November 5, 2008 at 11:24 am #

    I love that just-woke-up-from-a-work-nap feeling.

    It’s not one that I’m used to, though I could get used to it. -CS

  5. Philly November 5, 2008 at 11:25 am #

    I am ready for a nap right now !!

    #1

    Go over here at look at this video, for some odd reason I thought of you.

    http://mntxconnection.blogspot.com/

    Naps are the best in the world. I heart them. -CS

  6. Del-v November 5, 2008 at 11:47 am #

    What’s worse — Sleeping on the job or drinking on the job? I think I might do a little of both this afternoon.

    I think they should stock our kitchen pantries with Bailey’s. That would make the day go by so much faster. -CS

  7. Jon November 5, 2008 at 11:48 am #

    At a previous company, we had a “quiet” room, which was basically a dark office with a couch in it. It was for people that weren’t feeling well, pregnant woman, etc. I always thought it was a great idea. I also came into work hungover quite a bit. Those two things are possibly related.

    If I had a couch for napping, I’d take drastic measures to come into work hungover. -CS

  8. hautepocket November 5, 2008 at 1:39 pm #

    Wait. It’s bad to nap at work? Because I do it at LEAST once a week. Er…I mean…

    You mean twice a day? -CS

  9. Newmie November 5, 2008 at 1:48 pm #

    If you ask my opinion, as mist people do, I don’t think it’s bad. Hell, I just crawed out from under my desk to leave you a comment.

    Oh wait, I think you have some “sleepies” in your eyes.

    Who are these “mist” people that you allude to in your comment. I’ve never heard of them. Do they like subs? Do they like talking about feelings? -CS

  10. foxyluv November 5, 2008 at 3:25 pm #

    I am so glad you were able to rest while the rest of us where trying to keep Investments R’ Us afloat in these trying economic times. I was worried all of the noise from our working might have disturbed you. So happy to hear it didn’t. I would love to bring you a hairbrush. However, I am unfortunately detained as I am taking your share of the daily a$$ fu&king. Yeah – it doesn’t stop just because you aren’t around. Didn’t know if you knew that…

    I was sick! What more do you want from me!! -CS

  11. kristina November 5, 2008 at 3:33 pm #

    I’m with Amadeo and Hookdntx – having a siesta actually raises you productivity. But next time, you should at least lie under your desk, in case anyone should come in, then they won’t find you, asleep! A small mat stashed under there would work perfectly, I’m sure!

    Do you have any idea how dirty that floor is?? -CS

  12. HahnSolo November 5, 2008 at 3:45 pm #

    I have bean bag chairs in my classroom that have been used as a comfy nest for many of my teammates during prep period. Very nice.

    I would like bean bag chairs in the offices around here. And/or a pull out sofabed. -CS

  13. cinnkitty November 5, 2008 at 10:20 pm #

    back in the day (when my office door locked) I’d curl up under my desk with a pillow and sleep mask and take cat naps. Yeah.. yeah.. totally George from Seinfeld, I know! 😉

    Everyone should be allowed to do that. -CS

  14. thatgirl November 6, 2008 at 10:30 pm #

    i share an office with someone. we do not have a window but we both do have lamps on our desks. we usually work with the big obnoxious fluorescent lights off and the lamps on. she was recently out for a couple of weeks and i will admit … there were a couple of days where i just shut the door, put my head on the desk and snoozed.

    That right there sounds like the right thing to do at work. Good for you for taking advantage of her absence. -CS

Leave a Reply

