Mama Loves Her a Saturday

18 Oct

Yeah, that’s right, I just referred to myself in the third person.  I admit it, I’m a tool.  You know the best part about Saturdays?  The fact that I don’t have to crawl out of bed at an ungodly hour when it’s still dark as dirty sin outside and the rest of the free world is still sound asleep in their little beds.

You know the worst part?  I don’t have coffee at my immediate disposal.  Yes, I have a coffee maker.  No, I never use it.  For several reasons:

  1. I’m lazy and hate having to clean it when I’m through.  The dishwasher would help, but that would require replacing it because it’s been busted for 4 years.  I’m the only one that lives in this house and don’t dirty up enough dishes to warrant a new dishwasher.  Plus I’m Mexican so I was born to clean, that includes dishes.  In fact, when I go to friends’ parties I tend to end up in the kitchen cleaning.  Usually it’s because they’ve lured me in there with the promise of a taco or a pinata.
  2. Making for coffee is depressing.  It’s like calling up a restaurant on a special occasion and just making a reservation for one person.  I don’t mind being single, but I also don’t need it thrown in my face that my most recent relationship has failed and now it’s time to make coffee for ONE. 

Listen, if you’re interested in stopping by every Saturday around 10ish with a fresh cup of coffee (lots of milk and lots of sugar), feel free.  I’ll be waiting.

10 Responses to “Mama Loves Her a Saturday”

  1. Mike October 18, 2008 at 10:30 am #

    Hey if you like cleaning feel free to stop by. Their might be a burrito in it for you.

    Will there also be some Mexican red rice? -CS

  2. Rambler October 18, 2008 at 11:27 am #

    btw why lots of milk and lots of sugar?..doesn’t coffee taste the best in its purest form..i.e black? 🙂

    No, not it does not. In fact, black coffee tastes like pure evil and should be avoided at all costs. -CS

  3. pistols at dawn October 18, 2008 at 11:29 am #

    I’m usually pro-making women feel alone, but coffee for one is no different than coffee for two. Just drink enough for two, or, in my case, a small army.

    You’re missing one of the critical points: it still involves cleaning, and I don’t want to do that. -CS

  4. Amadeo October 18, 2008 at 12:47 pm #

    Making coffee at home is, for me, a basic survival skill. That and the screaming in my head won’t stop until I’ve had some.

    I can live without it, I just want it. That’s what she said. -CS

  5. icediva October 18, 2008 at 2:35 pm #

    OMG! Love your blog. I just started a single blog myself when I came across your’s. It’s at http://www.singlenochaser.com.

    Okay enough plug. I’m with pistols at dawn. Just drink more coffee.Or get a smaller coffee maker. That helps me!

    But even the small coffee maker requires that I clean it! -CS

  6. the princess October 18, 2008 at 9:11 pm #

    i don’t like using the coffee maker either. i feel the same way on saturdays and normally throw on the first clothes i can find and haul ass out to the drive-through. sometimes i brush my hair…but not always.

    Brushing one’s hair on the weekends is overrated. It’s kind of like showering. -CS

  7. bellaventa October 18, 2008 at 9:52 pm #

    “I’m Mexican, so I was born to clean….”

    ::dies::

    🙂 -CS

  8. Teri October 19, 2008 at 7:27 pm #

    I have one of those small dishwashers. I think they were made for us single people.

    I don’t drink coffee, therefore, cannot relate….

    I have thought about purchasing one of those, but then my desire to go out and have a cocktail gets in the way. -CS

  9. kristina October 21, 2008 at 2:12 pm #

    If you let the coffee drip directly into your mug (a really big one if you want two cups!), then all you have to do is throw out the filter and grounds when they’ve cooled, so technically no other cleaning is required… right?!

    You, Kristina, are clever and fetch! -CS

  10. cocktailsattiffanys December 7, 2010 at 4:43 pm #

    I’ve never thought of making coffee for one as being depressing, but now I probably will.

    THANKS!

    -Lucky

Leave a Reply

