I Said Yes

22 Aug

Tell me that’s not one of the biggest freaking rocks that you’vever seen?  How could I possibly turn something like that down?  The second I saw it, I knew that it belonged on my finger. 

So I went ahead and asked my girlfriend to let me borrow it for a little while.  A little while turned into 4 hours.  Yeah, that’s not my ring-though I wish it were. 

My girlfriend convinced her husband to upgrade her ring.  As the both of them live in the manner to which I would like to be accustomed, he had plenty of dough to accomodate her request.  I’ve already asked them if they would be willing to adopt me.  Her husband offered to do a little “Big Love” arrangement.  I’m going to be wife number 2.  That’s fine with me.  I don’t freaking care as long as there’s a ring like that on my finger.

So, in additon to saying “yes” to borrowing my friend’s ring while at her house this afternoon, there were a few other things I said “yes” to:

  • Drinking 5 margaritas, and 2 other drinks.  Mmm…nothing like going swimming when you’re hammered.
  • Doing a back dive off the diving board.  This turned into a belly flop.  So hot.
  • Losing my shoe and sunglasses.  How does one manage to lose a god damned shoe at someone’s house?  I’ll tell you how: by drink 5 margaritas and 2 other drinks.
  • Doing a face plant into a rose bush.  So graceful.  Especially the part when I hit my face on the railing of the diving board first.  I have the biggest bruise on my left hip right now.  Gee, too bad no one is going to see me naked to admire it. 
  • Did I mention I had 5 margaritas and 2 drinks?
15 Responses to “I Said Yes”

  1. Philly August 22, 2008 at 10:31 pm #

    Been there done that !

    #1

    Wait, which part? -CS

  2. Augusto August 22, 2008 at 11:06 pm #

    >>>Especially the part when I hit my face on the railing of the diving board first. I have the biggest bruise on my left hip right now.

    I am absolutely mesmerized to grasp how bashing your face gets bruises on your hip….kinky in that underage chinese acrobat way.

    It’s my genetic make up. If I get hit in the face, I end up with bruises somewhere else. The bruise on my hip is so bad that I can’t lay on my side, and it hurts when my clothes rub up against it. -CS

  3. Mister Underhill August 23, 2008 at 12:50 am #

    Congratulations on your fake marriage!

    Thank you so much! I hope you can make it to our fake wedding. -CS

  4. douchegirl August 23, 2008 at 1:04 am #

    Nothing like saying yes to 5 margaritas and 2 other rings. Congrats on the fake bling!

    Oh, the bling is real. It’s just not mine. -CS

  5. Cinnkitty August 23, 2008 at 3:06 am #

    Okay… you can be wife number 2 but remember, from now on you’ll be known as “Thundercat” ha..ha.ha.. (sorry, American Dad reference)

    Great, now I have the Thundercats theme song stuck in my head. -CS

  6. Dr Zibbs August 23, 2008 at 8:26 am #

    “Please return the ring now.” – Signed, your friends’ husband

    No way. He said I could keep it. -CS

  7. LizBits August 23, 2008 at 9:28 am #

    I can’t believe you got such a good pic of it on 5 margaritas and 2 drinks….glad it was a fun day!

    The pic was taking pre margaritas. Otherwise, it would have just been one shiny blur. -CS

  8. Magnolia Sun August 23, 2008 at 10:48 am #

    What a beautiful ring.

    So freaking pretty! -CS

  9. LittleGirlBlue August 23, 2008 at 11:27 am #

    I’ve lost my shoe while drinking before too!

    Where do you think they go? It’s kind of hard to lose just one freaking shoe. -CS

  10. Princess Extraordinaire August 23, 2008 at 12:29 pm #

    That’s taking upgrading to a whole new level……I say keep it and hell with the friendship!

    F that. I’m taking her husband up on his offer of marrying me too. He’s going to build a house for me and I can get my own ring. -CS

  11. Teri August 23, 2008 at 2:13 pm #

    what a fabulous ring.

    my heart dropped into my stomach when I first started reading. I would hope that you NEVER accept a ring from a person you should not be marrying.

    girls and their “shiny things”? what can you do? : P

    I might accept it for a little while. Just long enough to show it off and wear it until my arm gets tired from holding up such a heavy stone. -CS

  12. pistols at dawn August 23, 2008 at 2:30 pm #

    What if I offered you some shiny tin foil? You could see your own reflection in it…

    Yeah, not quite the same. -CS

  13. Andrew August 24, 2008 at 9:59 am #

    Goodbye brain cells, I must leave you…now pass me another glass of Milk of Amnesia….

    Is it the shinyness of the ring that steals brain cells? -CS

  14. Liz4.0 August 24, 2008 at 4:27 pm #

    Very nice ring. I would have said yes too, on that many drinks.

    However this is from the woman that took off her ring after too many drinks, but we won’t go into that…

    The ring should always stay on…even if you engage in shenanigans. -CS

  15. Mimi September 5, 2008 at 4:59 am #

    The post before this one, about memorinzing lines of a body, forgetting them, being fine, but not being fine.

    Well I couldn’t comment there.

    But I just wanted to tell you that reading that post was very. Very. Close to what I am experiencing also. The hardest break-up … the one where love still rules and exists. But just not right for each other. (right now – maybe later).

    Maybe not.

    I try and keep doors open, like Maybes, so I can sleep at night.

    I completely understand and I am TOTALLY picking up what you’re laying down.

    Namaste and lots of love, freedom, hugs, kisses and positive energy.

    xoxox

Leave a Reply

