Does Your Mother Know?

7 Aug

A few weeks ago, my mom, sister and I went to see Mamma Mia! at a local movie house.  It was good times.  We laughed, I wept like a baby (thanks PMS), and our ears bled when Pierce Brosnan sang.  The man is gorgeous, but listening to him is like listening to a cat in heat.  We’re fans of the ABBA music, they sing some snappy tunes. 

As we were leaving the movie theatre, my mother started laughing hysterically.  My sister and I gave each other a puzzled look and then demanded an explanation.  After all, the movie wasn’t that funny.  She then began to explain something I always suspected, she’s just a tiny bit special.  Sometimes she can get away with it by just blaming the langauge barrier since Spanish is her native language.  This was not one of those times.

She said she found a CD in the house that one of us had left behind.  Thinking it was ABBA, she decided to pop it in and listen to it.  Well, wasn’t she so surprised when the music didn’t sound quite right.  Still, she kept listening to see if she recognized a song.  After six songs-all of them sung by men-she went to look at the album cover.  Oops, it wasn’t ABBA. 

“So who was it?” we both ask.  “I can’t remember.”  She continued her laughter.  “I just remember that it was spelled kind of like ABBA.”

Meanwhile, my sister and I are staring at her wondering if she might have inhaled something before coming to the movies.  What on earth could she possibly have picked up that made her think it was ABBA?  We start rattling off band names.  My mother’s answer was always the same, “Nope.  Not that one.”

Two days went by before we finally got an answer. 

She had picked up this CD:

My Mothers 1/2 Retarded

 
17 Responses to “Does Your Mother Know?”

  1. shorty August 7, 2008 at 3:28 pm #

    A few years ago I came to the conclusion that mine is a little bit special too. Scary isn’t it.

    I’m pretty sure that all mothers are that way. -CS

  2. Me in Md August 7, 2008 at 3:29 pm #

    omg too funny!!!!! Your blog always makes me laugh – even when i want to cry – hope u r doing better 🙂

    I’m surviving, just barely. -CS

  3. Amadeo August 7, 2008 at 3:55 pm #

    I blame all of my “specialness” on my mother…I tell her its genetic.

    That’s a really wise choice. -CS

  4. cinnkitty August 7, 2008 at 3:56 pm #

    YIKES !!! That’s a HUGE difference.. well, minus the whole Scandinavian thing I suppose. ha..ha.ha..

    Man, it wasn’t even the Scoundrel Days CD? How sad.. 🙂

    I have no idea what the Scoundrel Days CD even is. -CS

  5. Liz August 7, 2008 at 4:04 pm #

    LOL dancing queen vs. take on me…..celebrity death match, please!! 😛

    I put my money on Dancing Queen. -CS

  6. Red August 7, 2008 at 4:18 pm #

    Seeing that gets the intro to “Take On Me” in my head!

    You’re welcome! -CS

  7. Augusto August 7, 2008 at 4:23 pm #

    Funny –

    I know. 🙂 -CS

  8. thenextfish August 7, 2008 at 4:43 pm #

    I hope you convinced her what a great group they are. BTW I’ve given you a little award for being so cool.

    She liked them, just not as much as ABBA. She’s so special!

    I’m so honored!! -CS

  9. Karen August 7, 2008 at 4:54 pm #

    Take On Me…Take A Chance on Me… I can see the similarities.

    The resemblance is uncanny! -CS

  10. courtney August 7, 2008 at 5:06 pm #

    i’ll have you know…when i read this and saw the CD cover…i went to myself (outloud of course)

    “ahhh-ha!”

    oh gosh!

    Nice one. Really nice. -CS

  11. Desiree August 7, 2008 at 6:54 pm #

    Hahaha! Reminds me of the year my brother asked for a Queen CD and my mother bought him Queensryche CD instead.

    Hilarious!! I bet your brother was so bummed out. -CS

  12. びっくり August 7, 2008 at 8:13 pm #

    Oh, remember the video with the animated ink drawings. I wanted to step into those drawings too.

    Come on! That video was so edgy…at the time. -CS

  13. Doraspam August 7, 2008 at 11:14 pm #

    Yea, my mom is special like that too, and its definitely a language thing. There is nothing like hearing your mom say “and that is the bitch” as she points to a photo of her on the beach.
    By the way, wasn’t Mama Mia wonderful? I mean, can it get any better than Greece and ABBA??? I also had no idea I would need a box of Kleenex!

    My mom does the same thing!! We also enjoy when she changes the “shits” on the bed. So funny! -CS

  14. Georgia August 8, 2008 at 7:21 am #

    good story –

    one time, my dad discovered stumbled upon one of my CD’s titled “put it in my mouth” – it was a klassy song

    Wow, that does sound uber klassy. Go, your dad! -CS

  15. Harris Bloom August 8, 2008 at 9:31 am #

    hey catherinette,

    i prefer a-ha…but that’s me.

    rock on,

    aitch

    They’re totally different and I like both. As a matter of fact, both of the CD’s were mine. 🙂 -CS

  16. MissEtiquette August 8, 2008 at 2:30 pm #

    That’s funny.

    I thought so too. -CS

  17. movie buff August 14, 2008 at 6:12 am #

    I was coerced into seeing Mamma Mia (the play), which ended up being great… as for the movie version, sounds fun, though it’s awkward to think of ol’ Pierce trying to sing, yeeesh

    The stage show is great!! -CS

Leave a Reply

