Medicate This

20 Jun

Today’s the day.  I’ve been waiting almost 4 months for this day to come and I’m ready to freaking go.  It’s vacation day!!  I barely slept last night, managed to pack in about 15 minutes and am totally ready to roll out the door.

I’m packed, the house is clean, the bed is made, and I can’t freaking leave.  Neighbor Care is supposed to be delivering the final dosages of my iv antibiotics any second now.  Yesterday they gave me a window of 9:00-12:00, and I’ve been sitting on my couch since 9:00 this morning.  It is almost 12:00 now and they’re still not here.  Bastards.  Every 10 minutes I happen to look out the window in hopes that I’ll see the delivery guy.  No such luck.

11:53: Is it that much to ask that they just get here early so I can pack myself in the SUV with 2 screaming children and drive for 9 hours or until someone is near death?  Come on!!  I’m freaking ready to get out of here!!  Super, guess I’ll just keep sitting on my couch staring out the window every few minutes.

11:59:  Here’s what I imagine will happen.  They will not end up delivering until about 4:00, and they will experience my wrath.  What’s more, they’ll probably also experience the wrath of my mother as she’s also ready to hit the road.  Maybe I should just call her and tell her to bitch out Neighbor Care now so they can still make their scheduled delivery time.  Is it wrong to use her powers of making others cry for evil instead of good?

12:01:  There’s a really bad new version of “Sweet Home Alabama” on the radio.  Here’s a question: why can’t people just write new songs/movies/TV programs instead of recycling old stuff?

12:05: Maybe I should eat something.  I’m so freaking hungry.  Oh, wait, there’s no food in the house and I can’t leave.  Great, maybe I’ll pass out from hunger and won’t be able to answer the door when they finally show up and then I’ll die on the floor and won’t get to go on vacation.  This is not going as well as I had hoped.

12:08: I can’t find the Neighbor Care number on the web.  Do you realize what this means?  I’m actually going to have to get up off the couch, walk 8 paces, and rifle through my bag for the number.  I barely have the energy to type this post, much less move off the couch.  Lack of sleep and food will do that to a person.

12:10: On the phone with them now.  They are officially 10 minutes late, but “should be on their way.”  That’s code for “we forgot to put your order in and are going to send someone out in the next 2 hours.”  Ergh.

12:12: Still not here.

12:15: I’m starting to get angry now, and you don’t want to see me when I’m angry.

12:16: Know what makes me even more angry?  They offered to drop the stuff off last night between 7:00 and 9:00, but I told them no.  You see, I took 3D over to my sister’s house for dinner last night.  I really wanted pizza.  I should have just stayed home and we’d be on the road by now…

12:20: F this, someone is going down (and not in a good way)!!

12:24: Okay, I give up.  I’m just going to take a nap and they can wake me up in 2 hours when they get here.  Bastards.  Thanks for ruining everything.

Click here because they should be punished for ruining everything.

16 Responses to “Medicate This”

  1. Amadeo June 20, 2008 at 2:18 pm #

    Throat Chop…it works.

  2. Del-V June 20, 2008 at 2:25 pm #

    Waiting sucks.

  3. thenextfish June 20, 2008 at 2:38 pm #

    Have a great holiday! (if you’re not still sitting on the couch waiting next week).

  4. gnugs June 20, 2008 at 2:39 pm #

    God. I hate people. Hope it works out!

  5. Daniel June 20, 2008 at 4:01 pm #

    Relax. Take a virtual visit to Spain and Aruba at http://www.bentpage.wordpress.com. By the time you get there, you’ll be interrupted.

  6. disarminglife June 20, 2008 at 4:18 pm #

    Isn’t it always the case that when you need something it’s either: a) late or b) never going to arrive.

    Have fun on vacay!

  7. Philly June 20, 2008 at 6:32 pm #

    hope your blogging on vaca

  8. Grant Miller, Esq. June 20, 2008 at 7:39 pm #

    Have fun if you can!

  9. Gunn Lino June 20, 2008 at 8:06 pm #

    Kinda like waiting for the cable guy, “Oh yeah Mr Smith our rep will be there for installation between 9AM and 6PM, and he’ll call when he’s on the way” well of course he never calls and show up at 7:30 PM, Piece O’ Shit bastards.

  10. sburns74 June 20, 2008 at 11:36 pm #

    I’d be calling every 10 minutes. That’s ridiculous, especially when it’s medicine, which is significantly more important than cable (kind of). I hope they showed up eventually and you were able to get on your merry way!

  11. pistols at dawn June 21, 2008 at 2:20 pm #

    Um…aren’t you going on vacation for a week? So why worry about thirty minutes when you’re about to spend 10,800 minutes on vacation?

    Basic math helps put many things into perspective.

  12. CaribbeanLurker June 21, 2008 at 3:21 pm #

    que tengas unas excelentes vacaciones!

  13. Jezebel June 22, 2008 at 7:27 am #

    I agree, some people really need to be drop-kicked down a steep flight of stairs.

  14. Write Procrastinator June 23, 2008 at 3:24 am #

    “Here’s a question: why can’t people just write new songs/movies/TV programs instead of recycling old stuff?”

    Because that would mean taking a chance, instead of going with something that has been proven by someone else.

    Have a nice vaction and hopefully you gave the rat bastards a nice chewing out.

  15. cinnkitty June 23, 2008 at 3:11 pm #

    OMG.. you and Ranger… except his was the cable company and their window was 8-11. They showed up at 3pm and didn’t leave until 6pm and STILL weren’t done. We had to kick them out or miss the Braves game.

    Talk about one pissed off boyfriend… poor thing.. we were just late for a baseball game. Being late for vacation is a whole new level of HELL!!

    Hope it got better for you.

    xoxoxoox

  16. MissEtiquette June 24, 2008 at 4:34 pm #

    Without fail, this always happens when you need something within a certain timeframe. That’s usually when I go into, “the whole world’s against me” mode. LOL

Leave a Reply

