How Splendid

11 Jun

Yesterday was a joy and a half.  I had to go see one of my doctors because I had a terrible headache and neck pain.  A CT scan revealed that the infection I have isn’t going away, in fact it’s getting worse.  Happy, happy, joy, joy.  What does that mean?  Aside from giving me a massive headache, it means my antibiotics aren’t working so I’m going to have to get fitted for an iv.  For the next 2 weeks, I will enjoy giving myself iv antibiotics in the privacy of my own home.

But wait, there’s more.

Part of those 2 weeks eats right into my vacation.  Score!  That means that I’ll probably have to miss some if not all of it.  Oh I’m so thrilled about this whole thing.  I really am.  I mean, how could it get any better.  I spend a week at home trying not to sweat to death from fevers or have too many crazy hallucinations.  THEN I get to spend 5 whole days in the hospital getting poked with needles and woken up at all hours.  THEN I get sent home thinking that everything is okay, only to find out that it’s totally not and I have to go back to get poked with even more needles AND I’ll get an iv at home.  Score!  How did I manage to get so lucky?

Seriously, the thing with the needles just has to stop.  I’ve never been afraid of them, and could always seem to handle them.  Right up until yesterday.  Now the sight of them makes me start to sweat.  Perhaps that has something to do with the fact that my right arm is still all bruised up from when I was in the hospital last week.  It looks so pretty, all those bruises make me look like I’m new to heroine or something.  Charming and sophisticated.  Getting woken up at 7:00 AM to have blood drawn is so awesome.  I highly recommend it.  Oh!  And if they can set you up with someone that can’t find your veins so ends up having to stick you twice, that’s the bomb right there.

Ugh, my head hurts.  Doesn’t really help that mom felt the need to call me at 8:30 this morning when I was sleeping so peacefully.  It feels like a samba band has taken up residence right in my brow.  I can feel the pulse in my head and it doesn’t feel good.  Not even a teeny tiny bit.  Let’s all take a moment to give thanks to Ibuprofen-hopefully it’ll help the samba music stop.

FYI: I blame all of this on the lawn mowing.

24 Responses to “How Splendid”

  1. Nicole June 11, 2008 at 10:13 am #

    I think all illnesses can be attributed to physical activity. Get well soon!

    I’m trying! Now, if only the infection would respond to the antibiotics. -CS

  2. Marjolein June 11, 2008 at 10:24 am #

    Oh no! Take lots of rest, eat healthy, and get well soon! Maybe you can make a deal with 3D on what kind of reward you’ll get when you’re better again…?

    He’s already offered all sorts of “incentives” once the iv is removed. -CS

  3. Red June 11, 2008 at 10:30 am #

    I’m feeling pretty good these days thanks to eating lots of veggies. Obviously, veggies won’t help as much as iv antibiotics, but you might try adding more to what you eat post getting-shot-up-fulla-drugs. I’m so sorry!

    What about cereal? Does that help? Because I’ve been eating a lot of cereal, and fruit. -CS

  4. teri June 11, 2008 at 10:47 am #

    My boss just ended up with some sort of Staff infection and had to walk around the office with a fanny pack which housed his antibiotic iv. Some of my coworkers made fun of him. So sad.

    I really hope you get better and don’t have to go into your vacation time to do it.

    This sickness is no joke.

    Those staph infections are really nasty. I have a coworker who’s husband was in the hospital for weeks with one. They’re scary as shit. -CS

  5. Jenna June 11, 2008 at 10:49 am #

    Ugh! I’m so sorry girl. I think you should forget about all future energy expenditures and tuck yourself safely in the orange zone. Get well!

    I’m currently located right between the orange and the star zones. Might even have to find myself taking a nap soon. And I’ve only been awake for 2 hours. -CS

  6. Lauren June 11, 2008 at 11:46 am #

    Sweetheart, you need to take care of yourself. No more mowing the lawn, ok? In fact, I’ll come do it for you. I’d be honored to mow your lawn.

    (Why is it I get the feeling Pistols, et al will make this into something dirty??)

    Seriously, enough is enough!!! You need to slow the heck down and take care of yourself and if you can’t you need to let us take care of you for a while. You know how to find me. Tell me what I can do.

    No more mowing. I can’t even push the mower now with this stupid iv. I can’t do squat-except for sit around and watch tv and read books. It’s not such a bad gig. -CS

  7. Allison June 11, 2008 at 12:48 pm #

    You don’t have that superbug (MRSA?), do you?

    Thankfully, I do not! -CS

  8. Del-V June 11, 2008 at 1:17 pm #

    Cath – I think it’s time you saw Dr. House. He’s a little rough around the edges, but he’ll cure your disease.

    Hold on… He’s not real. He’s a fictional TV character.

    I’m totally out of suggestions.

    Feel better.

    I would have swooned if he had been my doctor. -CS

  9. Cinnkitty June 11, 2008 at 1:37 pm #

    Curse your Mexican heritage and the horrible urge to mow lawns!

    Darn CS… you gotta take better care of yourself! Who else can we turn to for “Boozy Suzy” stories.. NO ONE can live up to the examples you’ve set. 🙂

    Get well!!

    xoxoxoxox

    It’s so hard to resist the lawn mower. Sometimes I just sit at the edge of my bed and stare longingly at it and think about the time when I mowed the water meter. Those were some good times.

    How awful is it that there hasn’t been a single story about booze in 3 weeks. 3 weeks with no booze. That’s the part that hurts the most. -CS

  10. Dora June 11, 2008 at 2:53 pm #

    You MUST rest!!!
    Well now you will have no choice…you’ll be dragging that IV with you everywhere, so you might as well stay put and rest!

    I’ll tell you what, the iv is hot. Nothing sets the mood like a tube sticking out of your arm. -CS

  11. Mike June 11, 2008 at 3:11 pm #

    I guess it’s taking it easy time for you. No lawn mowing or getting frisky with 3D.

    Well, there’s not lawn mowing, that’s for sure. The doctor didn’t say anything about not getting frisky… -CS

  12. One Date Wonder June 11, 2008 at 4:26 pm #

    Get 3D to mow your lawn.

    (See? That works on so many levels!)

    He might be on lawn mowing duty this weekend. Plus he’s going to clean the gutters. -CS

  13. pistols at dawn June 11, 2008 at 5:59 pm #

    I thought everyone in Baltimore jabbed needles full of “medicine” into their arms.

    That’s not true. Sometimes they smoke the medicine. Other times they inhale it. -CS

  14. Philly June 11, 2008 at 7:11 pm #

    That just blows!

    And not in a good way. -CS

  15. CaribbeanLurker June 11, 2008 at 7:38 pm #

    Lo que tu necesitas es un buen caldo de pollo con mucha lima!!
    According to my grandma that and a swimm in the ocean -go figure- cures everything!
    *hugs*

    My abuelita used to make the best caldo de pollo. God I miss that stuff. -CS

  16. Diane Mandy June 11, 2008 at 7:44 pm #

    I am so sorry you are having a rough time of it. I hope the new meds kick this infection in the ass soon!

    That makes two of us, sister. -CS

  17. the princess June 11, 2008 at 7:54 pm #

    you should never ever mow your lawn again. maybe 3D will stick around and do it for you for a bit at least. sorry to hear you are having such a hard time getting rid of the infection. i agree, it sounds like a wonderful dream, but really now! into vacation time? that just sucks.

    Tell me about it. I’ve been counting down the days to vacation for freaking months. I’m really bummed out about it. Not even an 8 hour car ride with the kids was putting a damper on the vacation. Stupid infection. -CS

  18. pamajama June 11, 2008 at 11:50 pm #

    You poor thing! Now I will tell you a story, to hopefully make you feel better about your life. When I was 25 I found myself pregnant, was hospitalized with an infection, and they sent me home with a leaky IV because my veins suck.

    When I went home my boyfriend, who happened to be the father of the baby, had emptied out my bank account while I was immobile. LOL It’s a true story.

    i hope you get well really soon. Follow directions. No more silliness for you.

    HOLY CRAP! What a shitty freaking story!! -CS

  19. SinCity June 12, 2008 at 2:00 am #

    CS, please rest and take care of yourself. You are far too fabulous to be laid up and on your back this long without being on your back getting laid.

    Seriously. Enough is enough. Please get better soon!!!!

    I’m totally laying in bed right now. Though I’m going to have to get up soon because I’m hungry. Stupid bowl of cereal wasn’t enough to do the trick. -CS

  20. Jezebel June 12, 2008 at 7:22 am #

    Holy crap!

    If at all possible, I suggest mixing a little Cuervo Black into the IV drip. It will make things much more enjoyable.

    As for your bruised arms, you should just do what I once
    did…convince people you’re an IV drug user. It’s SO much fun to see their reaction when you tell them that!

    FEEL BETTER already, will ya’?!

    I already get stares because of the iv in my arm. Maybe I’ll just tell people that the drug needles were bruising me up and show them my other arm. You’re right that it would be worth it to see their reactions. -CS

  21. gnugs June 12, 2008 at 8:17 am #

    Bed rest. Lawn mowing. I can see where you got confused. Ok, so I’m a bad liar, and ok, maybe I can’t smell what your stepping into there. But I do feel for the headache brought on by your fabulous landscaping prowess.

    It might sound crazy, esp. in all this heat, but try some peppermint. Not candy, but tea. Worked like a charm on my massive headaches when they ‘bubbled’ me because of the evil mutant mold growing in the house I moved into–and out of–last year.

    Stupid mold ruins everythings.

    I do love me some peppermint tea. I’ll have to try that out. -CS

  22. skcitygirl June 12, 2008 at 1:03 pm #

    goodness! i hope you get well soon and start feeling for real better too! i’ll be thinking of you.

  23. Desiree June 12, 2008 at 1:30 pm #

    Holy jeebus!

  24. Not Carrie Bradshaw June 12, 2008 at 8:32 pm #

    Oh my goodness. Thinking good thoughts for you that you heal soon. At least this seems to be a good way for 3D to prove his worth! 😉

    He’s doing a great job so far. He came over for dinner the other night and did the dishes, even after I asked him not to. -CS

Leave a Reply

