Mmm…Chicken

30 May

I love the smell of fried chicken, I really do.  I do not in any way, shape or form, however, like it when the smell of fried chicken is eminating from my own body.  Day 5 of Strep Throatathon 2008 is in full swing.  The throat is feeling better, much, much better.  Today, however, I have a different set of challenges.  The sweats and a massive headache.  I cannot stop sweating.  Please, God, just strike me down and freaking end it already.

This process has been somewhat educational.  I’ve learned that there’s a limit to how much time I can spend in my own bedroom before I want to start pulling my hair out of my head.  I’ve learned that when I watch “Love Actually” I end up crying through half of it.  I’ve learned that an all popsicle, sherbet, applesauce diet wears on you pretty quickly.  I’ve also learned that fever dreams are, in fact, real.  I know this because I had some really strange ones.

On Tuesday or Wednesday morning I woke up and flipped over towards the right side of my bed.  At some point in the night I had named that part the “orange zone”.  The left side of the bed is now known as the “star zone”.  Lord only knows what the hell I was dreaming about to split my bed into 2 separate zones, but I do know is that clearly it was some effed up stuff.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I need to spend some quality time sweating over in the orange zone right now.

14 Responses to “Mmm…Chicken”

  1. Beth May 30, 2008 at 1:09 pm #

    Orange and star zones. You’ve been hanging with Pistols too much, haven’t you?

  2. Mike May 30, 2008 at 1:39 pm #

    Woah! The dead have risen. Happy to hear that you are on the mend.

  3. Gunn Lino May 30, 2008 at 1:54 pm #

    Hey, the sweating is a good sign, really, fever breaking and body beginning to recover. Lots of water and fruit juice, take two aspirin and call me in the morning.
    Thank you, that will be $85.00 please!

  4. Brandi May 30, 2008 at 2:04 pm #

    I have to add zoning my bed and naming the zones to my to do list. Maybe I should zone the couch too.
    Hope you feel better!

  5. Philly May 30, 2008 at 3:04 pm #

    Well at least you don’t smell like a Cheese steak with fried onions, or as said by a Philadelphian, cheese steak wif

  6. Philly May 30, 2008 at 3:05 pm #

    correction above…..Cheese steak wit

  7. Ginormous Boobs May 30, 2008 at 4:45 pm #

    Just remember, don’t deep throat a sore throat.

  8. Foxy Luv May 30, 2008 at 7:48 pm #

    For the love of God – go to the doctor already! I know you think you have this degree from Johns Hopkins school of Internal Medicine – but you really actually don’t.

    Go to the Doctor – even if it is only urgent care! The smell of fried chicken coming from you is NOT normal!!!!!

  9. Foxy Luv May 30, 2008 at 7:51 pm #

    Here’s the other thing – I have had strep throat (confirmed by an MD administered strep test, thank you), and I have not had these symptoms! Massive sweats, delirium, and fried chicken smell are not normal strep symptoms.

    Please….seek medical attention. For the freaking love of God!

  10. the princess May 31, 2008 at 9:29 am #

    shit girl, have you got a bad case of it! perhaps your mind is zoning the bed so you have more than one place to go? go to the doctor. feel better.

  11. Bob Dobalina May 31, 2008 at 3:48 pm #

    Gb – thanks for the late advice (withdrawing from C) *pop*

    Cath – seriously, fried chicken? The fuck? I’ve never heard of that and if you really haven’t gone to the doctor, GO. Take a book to urgent care, even if they do just confirm strep, seeing all the fucked up people there will make you feel better about yourself.

  12. globus May 31, 2008 at 4:52 pm #

    after a serious toking session, globus once decided his bed was like east and west berlin. one side was much better, easier to get in and out of, and felt much more comfortable. the other side was always pretty flat, boring and devoid of comfort.

    then he realised how fucked up that was. and now is grateful he’s not alone with this shit.

  13. Bob Dobalina June 1, 2008 at 3:03 am #

    So after that status message.. erm.. are you ok?

  14. Diane Mandy June 2, 2008 at 6:49 am #

    Still not well? I think a trip to the dr is in order!

Leave a Reply

