Blogger’s Remorse

18 May

As I was holding my plastic cup filled with beer, shouting over the loud music while watching a bunch of young 20-something year olds try to mate with one another something struck me: I miss the place that shall not be named. 

I blame this predicimant on the blog.  Ergh.  If only I had just kept everything to myself I would probably still be sitting at that bar drinking my 5th cocktail.  Stupid blogger’s remorse!  Yes, it’s true, I regret posting every single word about he who shall not be named and the place that shall not be named and my stupid crush.  If only I could take those words back so that I could have my bar stool back!

Our first attempt at finding a new place to hang out was…interesting.  We started at Lemongrass and had 2 rounds of drinks.  I couldn’t even bring myself to order the cocotini because it reminds me too much of the drink that shall not be named.  Oh sweet, sweet drink!!  How I miss you.  We watched the bartenders make drinks and it just wasn’t the same.  Mainly because there were a bunch of girls behind the bar and they don’t quite do it for me like the bartender that shall not be named.  We paid our tab, and went to Federal Hill.

Ryleighs.  Fabulous food, excellent cocktails, and totally not our scene on a Saturday night.  We shoved our way through the crowd, ordered some beers, and then stood in the corner surveying the scene.  The conclusion?  We missed the other place. 

We quickly finished our beers and I dragged Jane to Maria D’s for some food as my stomach was digesting itself.  Standing in line we met an extremely inebriated young fellow that had spent the day at Preakness, and who had forgotten to wear sunscreen.  Poor 3rd Degree Sunburn.  He was going to be in for a big painful surprise when the hangover and pain of sunburn set in.

As he teetered in line and pretended to be sober, Jane and I looked at one another.  The message was clear: this would never happen at the place that shall not be named.  3rd Degree Sunburn chatted us up and then “accidentally” grabbed my boobs.  It was awesome.  Just as we thought we had escaped his oh-so-silky-smooth advances, he invited himself to sit at or table.  The 20 minutes that followed were painfully awkward (for him) and very amusing to Jane and to me.  We attempted to inhale our food so as not to prolong the drunken ramblings.  It was painful.  We really tried not to laugh at him, but it was hard not to.  Especially when he started telling us about a restaurant in Orange County, CA with the most authentic Mexican food ever. 

Next weekend will be better.  I have other places in mind for us to try.  There will be no bar fights this time, and no 3rd Degree Sunburns for us to attempt to avoid.  Just some booze, and maybe the right replacement for the place that shall not be named.  Oh god I hope he can find it, because the temptation to go back there is killing me.

11 Responses to “Blogger’s Remorse”

  1. Sue May 18, 2008 at 12:53 am #

    I love your blog. Your stories are fab.
    Ok, now I sound like a sad blogger stalker, I’m not I promise LOL
    S X

    Aw, thanks! You’re totally not a stalker-unless that’s you parked in the car outside my house staring up at my windows. -CS

  2. Mike May 18, 2008 at 9:54 am #

    The place couldn’t have been that bad. Someone got to 2nd base. 😉

    Oh yeah. It was totally hot when he grabbed my boobs right before I placed my order for a cheese steak. A moment I shall never forget, not even if I try. -CS

  3. red May 18, 2008 at 10:29 am #

    See, I would be shaking my fist at the sky saying, “Curse you, he who shall not be named!”

    I’m going to defend him here for a minute. Really, we don’t know what his deal is. What we know is that some people read the blog, and posted a comment on the restaurant’s myspace page (that still stings). Maybe he read it, maybe he didn’t. Maybe has a girlfriend, maybe he doesn’t. Doesn’t matter. We’ll never freaking know.

    Here’s what we do know, I’m not going back there and I’m pretty sure that the chick that posted the myspace message and the person that maintains the site (which is not he who shall not be named) are probably happy about it. -CS

  4. teri May 18, 2008 at 11:20 am #

    I can’t believe someone posted a comment on their blog. that’s treason, isn’t it?

    Don’t they kill people for treason?

    Why should they be killed? Don’t we all do the same thing? -CS

  5. pamajama May 18, 2008 at 11:25 am #

    Now I want to read the myspace page.

    How bad was it? Not as bad as the restaurant on Mother’s Day, I hope.

    And when I read the line about boobs and cheesesteaks I can only think of what a perfect combination that is for any man, a breast smothered in red meat and cheese. He was no doubt hallucinating with glee.

    The funny thing is that the guy was so wasted that he didn’t know what was going on. -CS

  6. pistols at dawn May 18, 2008 at 11:54 am #

    You need to stop getting crushes. Now, you can’t go back to Little Havana or the other place that shall remain nameless. If it makes you feel any better, I took Girl to un concierto de rock in B-more last night, four blocks away from where I used to live with an ex, and even parked in the hotel my ex’s dad works at. Classy, Pistols. Classy.

    I can most certainly go back to Little Havana’s. There’s nothing stopping me-except for the fear that I might run into Mr. Big X again.

    And you meant “klassy”. -CS

  7. Bob Dobalina May 18, 2008 at 1:15 pm #

    After reading your ‘breakdown of events’ above, I have to ask: Maybe you are overthinking it? I do that a lot.

    I mean, basically, you were attracted to a guy. You don’t know that he has a gf and in any case you haven’t made any moves to regret. You posted that you liked him but you didn’t mention stalking him or cutting lithograph portraits of him onto your limbs. Just that you dug him. Right?
    (I’ll admit I haven’t had time to catch up on all blog posts)

    So what’s the big deal here? Some bitch commented snark that he may or may not have seen. If he did see it, he’s either

    A) flattered and interested in you back
    B)flattered and involved with a girl, but no harm done
    or
    C) flattered, involved w/ a girl, and interested (RUN!).

    No matter what, this twatty commenter aside, you haven’t done anything embarrassing, other than publicly comment that you liked the guy. And while initial instinct is to be mortified, is it really so bad that you let it be known that you think he’s a hottie?

    Anyway, I’d grab some girls and go back to the place, especially if you miss so much else (besides him) about it. I also hate thinking that this bitch ‘won’ by driving you away from the place.

    Just my pre-coffee 2 cents.

    I did not tattoo his face on my chest, nor did I park my car across the street and stare into any windows. The only stalker activity was writing about it.

    I’m not going back. They don’t want me there, so I’m not going. -CS

  8. Bob Dobalina May 18, 2008 at 1:25 pm #

    oh and ps: I used to get my ass grabbed fairly often when I’d go drinking in West Hollywood. What can I say, the free drinks made it worth it. Still, unsolicited grabbing is only cool when it’s wanted.. and even then when it’s unexpected it can be startling.

    Technically I think you are allowed to pop a guy in the throat with the edge of your hand for copping a feel. I also think I just made that up, but I’ll give you a dollar if you try it.

    Damn it, where were you when I needed you last night?? -CS

  9. Foxy Luv May 18, 2008 at 4:35 pm #

    They are the ones who should be remorseful since your lovely mug will not be visiting their crappy establishment any longer.

    But the cocktails were to die for there. I have to give them their props for that.

    But it’s a big city and there are lots of yummy cocktails yet to be discovered!

    Stay strong, baby!

    After my date last night I have this to say: Doctor who? -CS

  10. Bob Dobalina May 19, 2008 at 7:13 pm #

    ‘Damn it, where were you when I needed you last night?? -CS’

    You have no idea how much I enjoyed reading this line.

    I bet you did, you dirty monkey. -CS

  11. Ginormous Boobs May 30, 2008 at 4:07 pm #

    Boobs and cheese steak = GB’s favorite kind of night.

Leave a Reply

