Mmm…Mother’s Day

14 May

Every mother wants to celebrate Mother’s Day with two things: a restaurant that serves spoiled food AND that has bad service.  Well, my dears, do I have the place for you!!  Granted, Mother’s Day is over now, but you can always feel free to go for a birthday celebration, an anniversary, or any other such occasion where you might like to get some food poisoning.

We celebrate Mother’s Day on May 10th, just like all Mexicans do.  This is far better than the U.S. version where you have to constantly wonder what the hell day it’s going to fall on.  I never forget: May 10th.  Every year.  Just like Cinco de Mayo, which, coincidentally, falls on the 5th of May.  How about that? 

On Saturday, my sister, brother-in-law, Damien, and Lucy(fer) took my mother to lunch at a place of her choosing: Arcos restaurant.  We had been in the past and had always had a good time.  The service has always sucked ass, but the food was good.  In the last 6 months since we went there, something totally changed. 

Perhaps the rodent/bug infestation and closure had something to do with it (thank you Baltimore Sun for sharing this with us):

And yet, we were not deterred.  It had been 6 months since the restaurant was close for bug and rodent infestation, so we figured everything was all good.  God, were we wrong.  Let’s recap the list of offenses:

  1. The service sucks.  You literally have to flag the waiter any time you want anything-like a freaking drink.  Or to remind them that you ordered a drink 10 minutes ago.  Or that the first drink you ordered twice still hasn’t arrived.
  2. The food was cold.  My mom had to send her plate back to the kitchen twice.  Apparently they made all the food 2 days ago and had just taken it out of the fridge and were sticking it under heat lamps.  Yuck.
  3. The food was rotten.  The beans they put on Damien’s plate were actually rotten.  My mother had to send this back too.  The waiter actually asked if we wanted more beans.  Umm…no.

The very best part came at the end of the “meal” when the check came to the table.  They charged us for everything, rotten beans and all.  Nice.  My mom demanded to speak to a manager.  Would you believe that there wasn’t one on site?  Instead, it was just the two douche bag waiters AND the kitchen staff making the rotten food.  So my mom proceeded to bitch out the waiter.

The waiter’s response? “Is this going to effect my tip?”

Next time we’re sticking to Los Arcos Dorados (translated into English: the Golden Arches).

7 Responses to “Mmm…Mother’s Day”

  1. Del-v May 14, 2008 at 12:28 pm #

    You should have talked you mom into Tio Pepe’s. I love that place.

    Tio Pepe’s is a blast. But let me point out a few things to you:

    1) That is not a place for Lucy(fer) and Damien. We would have been thrown out had Damien kicked any of the waiters in the shin. Or shouted, “You call this food?? It’s crap!!” All in Spanish, of course.
    2) My mother wanted Mexican food, not Spanish food. I recognize that we Mexicans and the Spaniards both speak Spanish, but we are in fact different.

    -CS

  2. Amadeo May 14, 2008 at 1:32 pm #

    Ever been to Mari Luna on Reisterstown Rd? Beautiful.

    I have been, and I have to say that I wasn’t really impressed. Not authentic enough. You know what else isn’t authentic but good anyway? La Palapa in Ellicott City. YUM! -CS

  3. One Date Wonder May 14, 2008 at 1:39 pm #

    You know, I feel for you. I really do. Except you know where I was on Mother’s Day, and really I think we’re tied. True, my food was not rotten. But…. well, you know. We shall not speak of it.

    Oh, I know where you were all right. And I will forever be amused. -CS

  4. girlwiththemask May 14, 2008 at 1:59 pm #

    Ohmygosh! How awful for your mum on her special day. Some people just do not have a clue, huh?

    It was really freaking bad. -CS

  5. Mike May 14, 2008 at 2:47 pm #

    ROFLMAO “is this going to affect my tip?” Pal if you don’t know then we know why you work in a dump like this.

    Can you believe the cajones on that guy?? -CS

  6. pistols at dawn May 14, 2008 at 5:38 pm #

    Yeah…that sounds terrible. I was at the Paper Moon diner with friends about a year ago when a roach dropped from the ceiling onto my then-lady’s food.

    We also got charged for that.

    Well done.

    You know, they totally could have charged you extra for the roach. They don’t do special orders there and they clearly did on that night. -CS

  7. Ginormous Boobs May 15, 2008 at 10:55 am #

    And this is why I LOVE the restaurant rating system in LA. The grade is right there on the window.

    We need to have that. -CS

Leave a Reply

